Limits. in Since OD is shutting down....

  • Oct. 17, 2021, 7:46 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So my brother and I were having a conversation the other day about our children and discipline. I realize how much I’ve allowed my child to make me an absolute wreck. I know that it’s time to take back my control because lately I’ve had none at all. My kid has gotten to the point of expecting me to give in EVERY SINGLE TIME she wants something. I am so tired of the constant fit throwing and she’s done it to the point where I’ve wanted to rip my hair out.

One of the things that she likes to get into and ruin is chapstick. She’s probably ruined at least 500 tubes of it along with lip gloss and other lip products. I used to buy the 3 packs from Walmart and they would be ruined within a couple of days after buying them. She was trying to ruin one the other day and I flat out told her no and took it away which inspired a tantrum. I let her cry it out and ever since, she’s left my Chapstick alone.

I’ve started taking back my control by not raising my voice, exercising time out and even giving her a couple swats on her behind. All of these things have made a really positive impact. I don’t ever want to physically harm my child and I don’t do it very often but I also can’t handle screaming any more either. My daughter has gotten to the point where her normal voice is either yelling as loudly as she can or being super whiny.

I remember when my little brother was a kid, my Dad didn’t discipline him whatsoever and no one else was allowed to. You couldn’t even look at him sideways without getting yelled at and my little brother was completely out of control. My little brother was out of control by the time he was 5 or 6 years old and my parents could barely handle him. I refuse to find myself parenting the same way. I’m a single Mom and I HAVE TO HAVE a handle on my kid.

My daughter is generally a pretty sweet little girl that’s pretty good about listening but there’s been a lot of problems lately where she is extremely bossy with me and doesn’t talk to me with a lot of respect, she sees me as just her servant. We have been making progress. I have been telling her no and using time outs and things are definitely getting better. I realize that I’ve been too lenient and letting way too much go.


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.