I think I'll look up gym fails later. in The Napkin.

  • Oct. 9, 2021, 2:22 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I saw a trainer showing a twig how to do shrugs. Shrugs? Are you kidding me? This is partly why I didn’t want to go into personal training. I can’t insult people like that. Shrugs? Dude, you gotta deadlift* if you want traps.

But, more importantly, n00bs be all “I have these weak points…”

Son. Your entire body is a weak point.

It’s always relative “how strong” you should be before employing isolation work, but the big picture is the bulk of your routine should be big lifts (squat/deadlift/bench/row/press/pull-ups). Don’t waste your energy with curls if you can’t do a pull-up. Don’t waste your time with leg extensions if you can’t bodyweight squat. And I mean ACTUALLY squat.

If you can’t squat, have fun getting off the toilet.

“But, Timmy, what if they’re too heavy to do a pull-up?”

Then DUH, their priority should be body composition, not curls.


I finished my workout with some overhead shrugs and some scapular pull-ups. Former to help my OHP lockout, the later, well. It’s partly scapular depression and downward rotation. And, wooo, just hanging there really feels nice. Must be some spinal decompression.

Got a compliment from a guy, saying nobody does them, stating they’re good at helping pull-ups. I know this, but hey, cool.


I think the crux of my depressive episode has passed. Don’t know where I’d be if I hadn’t forced myself to lift today. Just sucks that I have to “torture” myself to feel better.

Remind me: It’s not normal to have suicidal thoughts on a weekly basis, right? Ha ha. ..Ha?

Is it such a simple thing to ask that I not have to WORK at my depression daily? It’s exhausting. Gosh, I’m almost looking forward to when I can medicate myself again. PRESCRIPTION, PEOPLE.

*Oh, to circle back. I’ve never really done proper shrugs in a routine. Guys loading up in the squat rack and doing shrugs? Or the smith machine? No, haven’t done it. But I have pictures from before I started lifting years ago. My traps aren’t huge, but I’ve gone from concave to convex traps. One does not simply pull three plates with concave traps.

alt text


Deleted user October 09, 2021

I bet the people at Planet Fitness felt like this about me when I didn't know how to use the equipment

Timmy™ Deleted user ⋅ October 09, 2021

I understand the appeal of "machines", as they take the guesswork out. But I haven't touched one in fifteen years. Well, relatively speaking. Lat pulldown and cable rows are a bit of wiggle-room.

I'll... resist giving unprompted advice in a comment.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.