Bone conduction headphones/Baha in Second 1st

  • Oct. 7, 2021, 12:15 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yesterday my birthday gift came in (B-Day is the 20th) and Rocky let me have it. I knew what he’d gotten me because he’d ordered it online through WalMart so I got an email confirmation and another one when it was out for delivery. It’s a pair of bone conduction headphones. However, it’s a cheap pair and honestly It is the thought that really counts here and I respect that he’d gotten cheap ones. The truth is we don’t know if they will work. It sucks though because they are not true bone conduction … they have tiny speakers that are directed towards the ears. you can hear them if you aren’t wearing them....

So, what pair should I be trying? I’d seriously pay someone to let me try theirs at this point.... the more high end the better. I’d be willing to pay $500 for a pair of headphones that I could hear in my deaf ear. Wouldn’t even blink, if they were true bone conduction headphones. I was doing research and found out that the ones we’d been searching for (been to 4 Best Buys that supposedly had them on display) aren’t really bone conduction either. .... bone conduction headphones should not be heard by anyone but you. If you aren’t wearing them properly they should just sound like a bunch of buzzing.

It did lead me to a road of hope though? .... The BAHA hearing aid. There is a hearing aid that could give me back the hearing in my right ear. It is unlike a CROS system that uses a dual hearing aid system to reflect sound so you believe you are hearing things on the deaf side. It’s unlike a cochlear implant which replaces auditory sound with electrical impulses that directly stimulate the auditory nerve. Instead the Baha system sends vibrations through bone. A piece is drilled into a skull bone behind the ear and after 3weeks-3 months (depending on how long it takes to heal properly) the attach a vibration device that translates sound to vibrations. However, this costs.... up to $17,000 for the surgery and another $8,000 for the device itself. So .... like later… when the house is paid off lol

Still, very interesting. I’m not giving up hope on these bone conduction headphones either.... just have to wait till I can get my hands on a pair that’s truly what it says it is.... and likely expensive.


Hotaru October 07, 2021

Have you had a bone conduction hearing test? My daughter has congenital single sided hearing loss. Her bone conduction hearing is really no better than her hearing in her bad ear. She wears a behind the ear aid because it’s cheaper and less invasive than a BAHA. If her bone conduction hearing was better I would figure out a way to get her a BAHA for sure.

JHkerriokey Hotaru ⋅ October 07, 2021

Nope, honestly, it wasn't long ago that we'd seen bone conduction headphones.... and only last night I found BAHA was a thing. Wonder why they ENTs and hearing aid people hadn't mentioned a bone conduction hearing test ever. I have complete loss in my right ear due to Meniere's and I don't know it's even possible. It may not be.... I'll have to do research before I even make an appointment. Like which parts are now useless and which parts I need to work for the BAHA system.... this is seriously first thoughts

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.