Nano Thoughts. in The Napkin.

  • Sept. 29, 2021, 9:54 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I was relaxed enough at work to do some head-writing for my next novel. I keep coming back to the concept of losing and then trying to find a older/younger sister. I’ve done “falling in love with the girl next door”. My first novel had a strong sibling relationship. This one, most ideas seem to come back to a troubled relationship with a sister, losing her, and then trying to find her.

And somehow I keep coming back to some twisted time travel story. The kind of time travel where you go forward, but the act of going forward means you never existed in that future. But if you go back to the “present”, that future will be different for the mere fact that YOU are in it. If I go for time travel, I’ll have to plot it out a little, as solving problems too quickly could kill it. Or be a running gag.

“Hey, remember that time we were time travelers? That was weird. Anyway, got any cheese?”

I still haven’t reread my previous novels. It does sometimes help get me in a headspace. I haven’t decided the age range. It’s tricky. The older I get, the less I’m able to “speak” like I’m younger. Unless I just void that and talk whatever. Then there’s the references I can use. Though.

“So, who’s president?”
“Oh, trump.”
“No way, that guy that told Kevin to go the wrong way in Home Alone 2? You’re joking!”

I’ve even considered having a token Blockbuster obsessed kid who somehow knows trivia before the advent of wikipedia. Heh. Writing restrictions are great at creativity.

It’s funny, I would say I feel emotionally flat or… nonpulsed. I mean, I feel fine. I just feel like nothing could phase me positive or negative. In a GOOD way, so to speak. But I can’t be that flat if my creativity is still online.

I’ve given in to my nighttime chocolate/sugar craving. If I’m not as centered tomorrow, well. We might have the culprit. Ooops.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.