Timmy Got Back. in The Napkin.

  • Sept. 25, 2021, 10:26 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I got a compliment at the gym.

Usually, I’m there first thing in the morning. Well, first thing for me, which can be as early as 4 am. I had a morning shift today, and an evening shift last night. So, I “slept in” until 9 am, favoring sleep over a morning workout.

Guy who I have never interacted with before is all “haven’t seen you in a while”. Explained I lift in the morning. He said I look huge. As I look at myself daily, I’m not surprised I haven’t seen much of a difference. Sure, I TRY to see positive things about myself. But, I feel like my perception of my body correlates with my emotional status. I just finished week 4 of my cycle, and I can feel the fatigue accumulating. (That’s not entirely a bad thing.) And so, feeling a little flatter emotionally, I feel I look a little flatter.

Anyway, just explaining myself to you, dear carbon-based unit. I do try to keep it brief when I active my vocal cords.

He said I have a wide back.

That, I wouldn’t doubt. I’ll make a mental note to take more posterior shots. In raw numbers, I barbell row 10 lbs more than I bench. It’s been this way my entire lifting “career”. If I’m doing dumbbells, I row 5 lbs more than I bench.

I told him I keep my pulls balanced with my pulls, which is true. I should have also mentioned that I deadlift. Yes, the glute and hamstrings are the prime movers during deadz, but can’t dead without a bulletproof back. I swear, the only time I hear guys at the gym saying they don’t squat “because of their back” are the ones that DON’T squat, or wear a belt.

Anyway.

I’m noting this compliment, because it happened. I don’t actually feel the compliment. There’s a difference, ya know. I logically accept it, but gosh, it would be nice if the right person complimented me and I actually felt it. Not sure who that would be or under what circumstances.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.