The Nudity of Tank Tops. in Whey and Sonic Screwdrivers.

  • Sept. 20, 2021, 12:15 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Ya know. I’ve worn wife-beaters to the gym for years. Never really gave it much thought. The gym is a highly sexually charged alternate space where levels of clothing clearly vary from what should be acceptable going through a self-checkout at your local grocery store. I’ve been a skinny twink. I’ve been skinnyfat.

Now I just feel fat.

I said “I feel”, folks. I know how to use my “I feel” statements. And through it all, never really felt self-conscious much at the gym. That’s a place of self-betterment. Of improvement. Admire the overweight guy taking care of himself, aspire to be the buff chick cranking out pull-ups.

Hell, I’ve even been to a nude beach twice. Completely freeing. Didn’t feel self-conscious at all.

But until recently, I’ve never worn a tank top as street clothes. And I have to say: I feel self-conscious and exposed.

How the hell do chicks wear these all the time without feeling self-conscious? Mind you, for many years I wore baggy clothes. I was a buck thirty-five* and wearing XL shirts. Wasn’t until Candi that I started wearing clothes that FIT. Nah, she didn’t give me a makeover or anything. Just gentle encouragement and affirmations.

*135 lbs ~ 61.2 kg, for any standard metric inclined. I’m around 74 kg as of this typing, which is still relatively healthy. Oh, for those in Murica: 1 kg = 2.2 lbs. Thus, deadlifting 225 lbs is around 100 kg.

alt text

Shoulders out. Arms out. Nowhere to hide.

And gut out. I look pregnant. I know some chicks are into chubby guys, but I’m not into chubby guys. My preference.

Maybe I’ll just get used to it. Nobody really cares, after all. Or maybe I wish one random person would double-take and objectify me. I maintain that if you can’t reach the low bar of being objectified, you haven’t much worth at all. (Okay, not reeeeally, but I like/want to be objectified.)

Or maybe I can pull an Arnold. See, according to Bro-legend, he cut the bottom off his training pants so his calves would be exposed. He felt his calves were a weak spot. But being reminded of it caused him to train them, turning them into a strength. There’s a bit of merit in facing your dreams demons, so to speak. Wow, that was a hell of a typo.

Anyway, I hope to keep taking as many selfies as possible so maybe someday I can point and say “Yes. Yes, I did unfuck my body. It was fucked up, and so I fucked it down.” Never know which selfie will be it.

alt text


synapse September 20, 2021

I wear tanks as street clothes and in a heatwave it's hard for me to do anything else, and it's hard not to internalize the catcalling as this being perceived as some type of nudity. I just want to wear light clothes in the summer without becoming a sexualized object. Walking the dog is bad enough & I could never go to a gym

Timmy™ synapse ⋅ September 20, 2021

Meh, I've never catcalled, never seen catcalling, but MEEEH, some testicles deserve to be punched. You're just feeling HOT.

WeAreStarStuff September 20, 2021

I wear a wife beater under my shirt if I can’t be bothered to wrestle on a bra… which, honestly, in this time of quarantine, is most of the time.

Timmy™ WeAreStarStuff ⋅ September 20, 2021

I miss wearing them in the winter. That small extra layer really does make a difference, even in just a t-shirt. HOW DO YOU BOOBERS DEAL WITH SWEATY BRAS.

WeAreStarStuff Timmy™ ⋅ September 20, 2021

It sucks so much!

At home, I usually keep a t-shirt under them so there’s no skin-to-skin contact to sweat and feel gross.

I can remember when I was laid up with a broken arm, I didn’t think to provide that barrier and ended up needing to use diaper rash cream. Zero fun, do not recommend.

Timmy™ WeAreStarStuff ⋅ September 20, 2021

I was going to say "ice bras should be a thing" but amazon sells them. Replaceable gel inserts.

I can't be the only kid whose mom was olde skool and just used a bag of frozen vegetables when an ice pack wasn't available. : D Then again, frozen gel would be more form-fitting...

And... << more google-fu >> Lookie, ice packs for the perineum. Marketed for post-partum. And a "vasectomy ice bag". That one seems unnecessary. But if it were really hot out...

WeAreStarStuff Timmy™ ⋅ September 20, 2021

I totally have gel packs from my migraine ice pack kit that I’ve used under-boob, as needed. I put them inside an old, threadbare sock to protect the skin, and also to protect the ice pack from any sweat since it’ll go back in the freezer.

They’re especially good for when a hot flash hits and I feel like I’m being microwaved.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.