You're pretty. in Whey and Sonic Screwdrivers.

  • Sept. 1, 2021, 11:39 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

So, I was in the back part of a gym where there is no music. So all the female and male breaths of exertion sound like… Well, you can use your imagination. It’s disconcerting and “YEAH, LET’S SHARPLY EXHALE TOGETHER” at the same time.

On the other side of the room, notice a girl approach another girl and say, “I just wanted to say, you’re so pretty!” Recipient of the compliment had been doing bulgarian split squats, and I frankly don’t recall her response beyond it being accepting. The giver of the compliment went on her way.

alt text

Let us posit the obvious: guys can’t approach girls at the gym like that (unless they know them). Bulgarian split squat girl (with kettlebells) was letting out the gym noise I usually make when my back quad is on fire. I KNOW that feeling. Fairly good chance if I had complimented her, I would have gotten a black eye or testicular torsion. (Less her physical prowess, more me being in the wrong.)

I obviously know better, and let chicks do their thing in peace. Never once have I thought “I should compliment her”, because no?

Anyway. I was trying to put myself in her shoes. She didn’t seem agitated nor perturbed. Or maybe she was just focused on her workout, took the compliment, and went about her business. In general, it is my understanding women can compliment other women without much repercussion. (I could be wrong! I haven’t been a woman in this lifetime!)

I’ve never received a compliment from a guy at the gym, other than the locker room. :: laughs :: But, if I got a “I just want to say, you’re pretty” on the floor, I would be flattered. I mean, even if my definition pops a little at the gym, I still “feel” ugly and fat. So while I prefer female validation, if a guy were to tell me I’m pretty (or some other compliment), I might actually enjoy it.

Might.

I mean, I’m fine with guys flirting with me. I’m used to it. They’re so much more direct than girls are. Makes me feel “Wow, at least SOMEONE sees something in me.”

Worst case, if a guy decided to FLIRT with me on the floor? Might throw off my concentration, my mental headspace. But, there’s a difference between flirting and a compliment.

Let us agree that unsolicited advice givers suck. And in my experience, they have been ALL MALE. Yes, I get brovice* from dudes, too. Most recently on my shoulder press form. Think that was June.

Guess who gave me a compliment weeks after that.

A female trainer told me my overhead press form was good. I mean, I’m not paying her, she’s just around. So. That really added to my confidence.

I think..... that about covers that topic. May you add plates to your squat this week.


*bro-advice = brovice? The term “mansplaining” is done to death and is used sometimes to silence men. No different than the term “Karen” hitting a critical point where it is used to silence assertive women.


Mr. Mofo September 01, 2021

I'm sorry, but I do not like Bulgarian squats. I mean I can do them, but I hate them.

If that lady in the pic was gonna give me a testicular torsion sure it would hurt...but I would still let her.

What are your thoughts on the Jack Lalanne push up?!?

Timmy™ Mr. Mofo ⋅ September 02, 2021

I'm more interested in pull-ups, myself. Strict, no kipping.

Mr. Mofo Timmy™ ⋅ September 02, 2021

Isn't kipping that weird kinda swing up that helps you do a crap ton of pull ups, but it takes away most of the positives of the pull ups???

Timmy™ Mr. Mofo ⋅ September 02, 2021

Yes, indeed. I like full range of motion, myself.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.