most of what's been happening in Second 1st

  • Aug. 26, 2021, 4:43 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So, I’m gonna try to make a real entry. The last couple of weeks have been a blur really.

Rocky had gone to the hospital and had been there for a good 5 days? During those days the only things I can recall is sleeping all day. I did not eat. I woke coughing and moved from the chair in the living room to the bed or vis versa.

The action of getting Rocky from the hospital was a huge ordeal. I’d woke up to a call from Rocky saying they were going to let him go that day and I spent every ounce of life I had to get dressed. I’d gotten a call from some lady “putting us on a route”..... apparently someone would be coming by to drop off oxygen. I informed them that I was waiting to go pick my husband up from the hospital now and there may be no one here.

Shortly after that I got a call to go get Rocky. The 2 nurses who came out were trying to talk to me. It was all I could do to inform them that I had COVID. I just coughed every time I tried to talk back. Rocky had to tell them.... IT was so taxing.

When we got home the oxygen guy was here and there was just enough to park next to him. I tried to get Rocky to listen to things he had to say because I could not.

Things are way better now.

Over the next week it was more of that. When Rocky felt okay enough I placed an order from Publix for delivery. Broth because Rocky thought he could and some Ricola, which honestly didn’t really help with the cough.

It seems that getting better has been slow going but there is clear progress. After the broth delivery we decided to try food from Uber eats. He got Chicken and Dumplings from Cracker barrel and I got a burger. It was too much of a shock for my system and I regret it. Each day we ordered something from somewhere. Honestly, I believe this is it’s true purpose. That the creator of this type of service must have had a vision of the future and saw that a food delivery service would be the life saver it has become.

If Uber eats seriously didn’t exist I’m not sure we’d be where we are. We’ve eaten it the last 4-5 days. I was joking today.... joking.... that we’d eaten all of Uber eats so we have to get better now. (Kinda like “We’ve watched all of Netflix lockdown has to be over now”)

It’s Thursday, work should resume tomorrow. SHOULD..... but we’d agreed.... somehow we are weak. We are getting better. Now I’m coughing when I lay down or get up.... I’m actually getting hungry ..... bathroom usage is back to normal ish.... bedtime is about the time I get sleepy..... I’m up most of the day.... BUT.... pouring a glass of tea is a huge job.... walking to the mailbox is tiring....

The requirements work has put before me is 10 days isolation and the last 72 hours before returning to work I have to have not had a fever...... 72 hours is 3 days!.... so I sent a message to HR this morning. IT is not true ..... I do not have a fever BUT....If I were to say to HR “I am weak and honestly feel like I would not make it through a day at work so I’m not going to be in this weekend”...... far less understandable in comparison to what I actually sent. “So, it’s past the 10 days. I have a fever this morning. 72 hours would cover the whole weekend. So I guess I won’t be in all weekend? “HR responded with “That’s correct. If you still have a fever continue to isolate and keep us updater. Take care and get better.”

Rocky’s been progressively more annoying. Talking more, doing more. We had a discussion today about vaccines and symptoms. When we are well in the clear and have energy back we will be vaccinating. We had chosen not to because it makes my mom freak out but I just spent 2 weeks sick and hadn’t even told her I was sick. So I’m sure we can manage to get vaccines without telling her..... aside from that saw an article about Phizer’s vaccine finally being FDA approved so that’s good.

There was an odd symptom that wasn’t on any symptoms list I’ve seen. There was an odd disconnect. Like being separate from self. Like I was behind myself.... arms felt 5-6 inches longer.... legs longer.... not feeling in the same location in bed.... or feeling like you were sunk further in a chair than is possible. Until talking about it with Rocky today I thought it was just me.... like maybe I was crazy. As I got better the moments got shorter and further apart. I am now convinced THAT is the RNA difference. That is how you can tell COVID from Flu..... and duration of course.

The plan now is to work on being awake. Doing things.... trying to make it as easy as possible to get back to work next weekend. Financially this hurts. We were just about to get back to normal and BAM here’s a month without pay...... at least there are jobs to go back to.

I am about to embark (if not in the next hour or so than in the morning) on running through the bank account and paying what bills we can. I’m not worried. I do not care really is more like it. House not going to be late for the next 2 payments.... I’m not sure who wouldn’t be able to understand “neither of us have worked in 3 weeks because COVID”..... I’ve not been late but once since we bought the house in 2016 so I”m sure things will be fine.

I’ve showered! lol Let’s not talk about how gross I’ve been. It’s in the past.... took me an hour to brush my hair this morning though. Done in 5 min spurts and working through the matting I’d created.

I’d say things are getting back to normal. A bit slowly but we will get there.

I also called today to make that appointment for the cyst in my armpit.... Wednesday. I’ll call about the other things (OBGYN, Sleep test) tomorrow. I’m going to take the last home test we have tomorrow.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.