I was actually able to taste and smell my food today in Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of HAPPINESS

  • Aug. 21, 2021, 3:45 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This is a HUGE win in my book. I think when I made my entry of Covid symptoms I was having the other day, I hadn’t yet lost my sense of taste or smell, but it happened the next day. To be honest, I just want all of this to be over. Even my MILD SYMPTOMS are no joke. You really take breathing normally for granted. It’s like I have to work 20 times harder to breathe. I’m monitoring my blood oxygen levels with a pulse oximeter. I’m so happy that we have one because it has been able to ease my mind quite a bit. Also, my eyes are no longer hurting. My major symptoms now (day 8 of quarantine) are the labored breathing, dehydration, an overall feeling of exhaustion, sweating, cant stand for very long, and my back is so achey. I’m SO tired of being stuck in the house and stuck in bed. When I think about it too hard with my anxiety and not being able to tend to my kids the way I’d like to, and constantly sending them away from my room…I just want to cry. This is the worst feeling I’ve ever felt. I called my mom and cried my eyes out this morning because I just want to feel normal again. I’m so jealous of everyone else being so happy and being able to breathe and live their lives. Monday is my 10th day and my last day of Quarantine and supposedly I can go back to work Tuesday, but I don’t see how that will happen. I’m optimistic about starting to feel better, but I don’t know about being on my feet all day. There’s been so many people within the school district already that have gotten Covid. It’s just heartbreaking. Even the school I’ll be transferring to has already had cases.

In other news, there is no news! I might go sit outside on my porch for a few minutes and get some Vitamin D!


DreamsofJ August 21, 2021

I hope you feel better soon! I caught Covid last December and I felt like complete poop. I literally slept like 3 days. Just make sure you keep moving around so mucus doesn't get stuck in your chest.

iwontsugarcoat DreamsofJ ⋅ August 22, 2021

Thank you so much! The hardest part right now is working so hard to breathe. It's so exhausting! I just walked to the restroom and was so winded. Thank you for the advice! My boyfriend has been encouraging me to cough up the mucous (I've never been big on spitting it grosses me out), but I figure it's better out than in!

How long would you say that it took you to feel semi-normal again?

DreamsofJ iwontsugarcoat ⋅ August 23, 2021

oh yes for sure make sure you spit that nastiness out, you want that you of your body. I agree I am not much of a spitter either, but the faster you get it out the better it will be. Honestly I was down about two weeks, had to push myself to get energy back I was so tired. I had the worst time trying to stay awake I would watch something and 4 mins in I would be sleeping.
Are you starting to feel more normal yet?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.