GWOT in First entry

  • Aug. 15, 2021, 8:10 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I haven’t been in the news and I’m actually thankful for that. On my FB feed a lot of my friends I have served with are posting updates and talking about how they feel about what’s happening. As I hear story after story of the different parts that are being taken back by the Taliban, my heart breaks. I’m left thinking about so many close friends that dies there or came back changed forever. Men I served beside that died and for what? My entire adult life has had this war going on. I’ve watched families that were ripped apart because my friends came back, had PTSD and ultimately lost the battle to it. Their kids are robbed of their father. Again, I ask, for what? So many people in Afghanistan, promised the opportunity of freedom and now they face a near immanent death for them and their families for helping us. For what? What did we gain? Why did we have over 2300 people that had to die there for nothing. Again, my heart breaks. I hate it. A failed war, but why? Where did we go wrong? So many people like to break out their flags and barbecue, not really understanding the cost of this war. We stand and say Merica, but honestly we just sacrificed so many people all for nothing. It’s different when you see the families that lost their dad or their son. I’m just left with anger and sadness and the question, what was it all for?


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.