Why Do They React That Way? in The Kid Used To Dream

  • July 28, 2021, 5:38 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I have noticed over the years that many friends I have are a result of someone approaching me, and not the other way around. When I try to approach someone it’s almost as if I have huge sign over me that says: NOT INTERESTING - KEEP MOVING.

Why can’t I pick a friend? I never noticed it until today that I don’t have the ability to initiate a relationship. I have always thought that I was introverted with extroverted tendencies but that seems like one would cancel out the other.

All the relationships I have even if it’s family - exists because someone approached me. I can think of a few that I have approached to initiate a friendship but there’s no depth. There’s not that brotherhood or closeness.

Am I that unapproachable that something I’m giving off spiritually says - NO TRESPASSING?

For the past 9 years, at least, my own mom has promised what she calls - “our day.” She always says that we are overdue for a mom and son day. I have invited her on several trips with me that she declines - now, she’s obliged me on 2 occasions, but they were short lived overnight trips. She literally lives less than 100 yards from me and I never get to see her unless I go to her. Then, she is always gone; either with my sibling or one of her friends. As I mentioned in a previous entry - when I was 4 my step-dad informed me that he was exactly that - a stepdad. I think my mom and I were together from her previous marriage a while before she remarried. My biological dad didn’t even show up at the custody hearing.

Was I born with a natural repellent?

The close friends that I do have all approached me to get to know me. I don’t think there is anything wrong with that. I wouldn’t be married today had my wife not approached me to get to know me. I am a very loyal person and vowed a long time ago to not express my opinion. I am often considered the comic because I love to laugh. Yet, when trying to make a friend it just feels like my identity has to be inclusive of whatever someone else is looking for.

For the most part, it doesn’t bother me. However, I would like to know why my own mom always talks about these so-called plans that is so easy to make with others - but somehow she’s always too busy.

So, I have embarked on a quest to figure out what I am doing in life that repels someone. Am I not loving myself enough that no one else wants to love me? Have I shut someone out unknowingly over time that what has happened to me is retribution? If I could only find the person that wanted to be my friend and I pushed them away - so I could figure out how to break this cycle. Then, maybe my mom would not be too busy for lunch.


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.