And the "Worst Mother of the Year" award goes to in Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of HAPPINESS

  • July 19, 2021, 4:14 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It’s barely 10am, and my 6 year old is screaming her lungs out. This of course comes after she was confronted about something I took out of her pants pockets yesterday. Magically, the stuff reappeared in her pocket. Did she take ownership and responsibility? Of course not. She lied to my face even after I told her that I already knew the truth. The other day, I caught her trying to take her purse to Summer camp. I look inside, and lo and behold I find a $20 bill. She says she took it out of her piggy bank which I have put up in a back room with storage. WHY?! All I can think of are those cringey episodes of any daytime talk show like Maury or Jenny Jones or Ricky Lake or whomever, where these out of control teenagers have the nerve to disrespect their parents in real life AND on TV. I’m constantly thinking about how when she grows up, she’s going to have animosity and hatred toward me because of her being disciplined for the right things. When I used see those shows I always ask myself, why doesn’t that parent just control their child. Why is that mom crying? You’re the parent, I would say. I TOTALLY GET IT NOW. My child is only 6 and I think she has a severe case of ODD (Oppositional Defiance Disorder), and when I tell you I’m tired I don’t mean that my eye lids are heavy. I mean that there are times where I want to send her away. Now when I say away, I just mean 2 hours away to my moms. Of course this plays out in my head to be one of the reasons that she’ll grow up and hate me. Not because I am a bad mom, but that because my “love” to her comes across as mommy not caring about her. I’ve worked with the teenage versions of her. I’ve seen how much love and care someone can have and it still result in a bad outcome. I struggle with trying to keep myself from labeling her, but I want her to get help. NOW while the consequences are not JAIL TIME.

Imagine having these feelings about your 6 year old.

If I’m doing everything that I can, am I still considered the Worst Mother of the Year?


Miss Chiffs Manager July 19, 2021

Therapy!

iwontsugarcoat Miss Chiffs Manager ⋅ July 20, 2021

For she or I? I have her in therapy, but everytime I ask what she has done after her session, she says that she just played with toys while I waited in the lobby for an hour. I of course bring her for help with managing her emotions as well as for coping skills.

I MOST definitely would love to go to therapy. I have yet to find anything cost effective and affordable for myself. However, I saw an ad on facebook for online therapy that is budget friendly. I will be looking into this ASAP.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.