What Is Your Superpower? in The Kid Used To Dream

  • July 16, 2021, 12:14 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

My mind has always been somewhere but in the here and now. When I was in elementary school I would daydream and forget to do my work. Well, lets be honest, I just didn’t want to.

One daydream I would have was to have a superpower. I would sit and stare at my desk My pencil in my hand as if I were writing my assignments; concentrating on how cool it would be to set my paper on fire. I must have stared for a long time. So long, actually, that my teacher made me stay in during recess. Now, to my friends at recess I am invisible. That would have been a great superpower to have. Then, after recess they would come back into the room and say, “was you in here all this time?” They didn’t miss me. They didn’t know I wasn’t around until they seen me again. I spent 12 years with my classmates and I don’t think they ever really saw me. They didn’t really know me. Of course, I didn’t want them to know me. After all, a person with a superpower doesn’t reveal themselves.

I’ve heard of people creating a pseudo personality. A personality to help them blend into the crowd. It’s not on the same plane as schizophrenia but they become like a chameleon. They can blend into conversations, relationships, social gatherings and be one of the boys - or girls. It’s the same as being invisible. You hide in plain sight. The guys standing around making fun of the one girl you sort of liked. Maybe because they didn’t or made fun of her is why you liked her all the more. You wouldn’t dare talk to her out of fear. I look back and wonder how many great friendships I missed out on because of fear?

This invisibility superpower has taken control. I can walk thru a crowded supermarket and no one acknowledges my presence. No one acts as if they can see me yet here I am.

I’m so tired of not being seen. Maybe, I’ll wake up from this dream I’m in now and be one of the popular kids. One can only dream - right?


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.