Dreams As a Way of Processing Emotions in Just A Day In The Life

  • July 15, 2021, 10:44 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I had a weird nightmare last night that is stuck in my head. Most of my dreams are usually related to something that has happened to me that day. I think that I process a lot of emotions through my dreams.

Some things that I know I was processing in my dream last night:

  • Eduardo and I wanting to move in together but also me worrying about leaving my family home
  • Eduardo gave me a beautiful bouquet of flowers last night and I was worried they would wilt too much while we were out at dinner
  • We went to a comedy show last night and there were a bunch of white girls sitting by us
  • They asked if we were married last night because I was wearing my ring on my left ring finger

In my dream, I got home from being at Eduardo’s house (I spend weekends with him) to find out my mom had rented out the room in our house that is next to mine to multiple college-age sorority-ish girls. I use to attached bathroom to that bedroom and they had thrown away or taken all of my things and gone into my bedroom. They had taken my flowers and separated all of them to decorate their room. They took my ring and the ruby stone was dislodged and fell and became lost. Nobody would help me and my mom and other friendly faces in my dream would take me seriously.

This whole dream was tainted with the strong feeling of urgent frustration. I remember having this feeling as a small child. I woke up extremely upset and frustrated. During the weekend, I sometimes have upsetting dreams and I turn over to Eduardo and soon slip back into sleep. When I woke up last night I turned over to reach for him and he wasn’t there. I can’t wait for the day that I don’t have to wake up alone. I grew up really poor and there was a long time where my family (There are 6 of us) all slept in one bed or in one room. I think this conditioned me to sleep better when I’m not alone.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.