covid entry. in Every day scata

  • June 26, 2021, 12:47 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I should have been keeping better record of the plague. Kind of late to start now, but, eh.
strong text“The latest
Each new phase of the coronavirus pandemic has pitted the speed of viral spread against the speed of human responses. Now, the contest is the delta variant vs. vaccines and prevention, in races playing out over and over in communities across the planet.

Consider the young adults in Washington, D.C.: At the recent graduation ceremony of Ballou High School students, D.C. Health workers were there, ready to offer shots. No graduates took them up on the offer. Younger Black adults have reported being wary of medical establishment and side effects, or they said they don’t feel at risk. Ankoor Shah, who leads D.C.’s vaccine program, said, “The solution is not only some program or initiative. I think these are systematic and systemic and historical, structural problems that have happened for hundreds of years.”

Or residents and travelers in Europe: German Chancellor Angela Merkel and French President Emmanuel Macron urged European Union member countries to work to coordinate travel restrictions. “In our country, if you come from Great Britain, you have to go into quarantine,” Merkel said Thursday. But that’s not universal across the E.U. — an opening, she feared, the delta variant could exploit.

Or the city dwellers in Australia: Sydney began partial lockdown Friday because a cluster of the delta variant broke out there. Contact tracers have identified at least 65 cases following transmission that started with an airport limo driver. The lockdown has been likened to a circuit breaker, with New South Wales Premier Gladys Berejiklian saying the week-long pause will “prevent further spread and prevent further dislocation.”

Meanwhile, Brazil offers a grim lesson for what happens when the race is not run. President Jair Bolsonaro had promised his hands-off method to the pandemic would help the poor. Permitting them to work through the pandemic without support was better, he had claimed, than the alternative — that hunger would be more devastating than the virus. But allowing things to take their own course has had doubly harmful results, economists say: Brazil’s crisis has been prolonged, and even more people there have entered poverty, because the government did not offer sustained help for the needy.


Camdengirl June 26, 2021

It’s tricky, because you could argue that by letting the virus run, it does kill off the weaker members of the population and increase the need for workers - whilst it is clearly devastating when you do that and people die as a result of non Covid accidents or emergencies as healthcare gets overwhelmed, the remaining workers have some immunity, they might get paid better and they have less caring obligations.

In my area we had a massive outbreak about 2 months ago, due to Ramadan/Eid. But our numbers since then have been very low as everyone who was ignoring the restrictions has had it…

Gilraent Camdengirl ⋅ June 26, 2021

I am still having to say that covid isn't some conspiracy theory to people around here. And they know those who have died from it. Well, they say they didn't have it, they just put it on the death certificate for money. I think Missouri has the lowest vax rate in the country. No one is wearing masks anymore. And I just don't understand any of it.

Sorry. That really had nothing to do with nothing lol

Camdengirl Gilraent ⋅ June 26, 2021

I’m not a denier but here I wonder if the consequences wouldn’t have been less if the virus had been able to run… essentially we’ve been living in covid-central for months but have managed to avoid it, because we’re not being stupid. The only weak point is school, and they have been very careful about keeping windows open, making the kids wash their hands etc. No cases passed at school so far. I would have at least liked the option of having shops open to be able to get the kids shoes or being able to go into the office if I wanted to.

Gilraent Camdengirl ⋅ June 26, 2021

Well, I took every precaution. I was even using a hospital disinfectant fogger. I wore masks, washed my phalanges, changed my clothes in the garage. You name it, I was doing it. And I still caught it. And I could have died. I am still not well. I need to use an inhailer now, I cannot walk more than a block without having to stop. Can't walk up to the third floor of one of my clients houses without sitting down so I don't black out. I still can't taste or smell very well, and what I can taste, doesn't taste right.
So, in my opinion, the consequences really suck donkey balls.

Camdengirl Gilraent ⋅ June 26, 2021

But you were in people’s houses (I presume for work) whereas we were able to work from home. Indoors is the big risk IMO.

DevilishlyInnocent June 30, 2021

I'm an asshole.
But if my ancestors survived smallpox, rape, and genocide, a tiny virus ain't shit.
I work at a movie theater where people don't wash their hands.
I'd have gotten it by now. My immune system is awesome.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.