Happy Summer Solstice. in Whey and Sonic Screwdrivers.

  • June 21, 2021, 1:55 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Somewhere between ignore and oblivious, I generally don’t participate in hallmark holidays. Or holidays in general, unless it is of my own volition.

Huh, maybe that’s why it bugs me, right there. You’re TOLD to go through some hoops. Whereas if you decide to throw yourself a birthday party, it is different than if you’re having a day/week/year when you’d rather ignore the occasion and then people are all OH HAPPY BIRTHDAY and you feel OH BUGGER OFF. The difference between attending an occasion for someone else that they planned, and some passive aggressive assumption that you’re supposed to do something for them.

Eh. Talking out of my timmybum.

Just annoyed that I got a text from my dad saying “not even a call?”

For long-time readers: He still doesn’t know about that-thing-I-don’t-talk-about.

The last conversation I had with my mom was her screaming at me on the phone because I didn’t call on mother’s day. I seriously didn’t even notice the day had passed BECAUSE IT’S A FUCKING HALLMARK HOLIDAY and I don’t pay attention.

However. This year. HOWEVER.

See, last Wednesday i was in WalMart waiting for the pharmacy to open, and I spied a card that amused me. I honestly wasn’t even aware of Father’s Day. It is a comfortable rock I live under.

So.

Yeah. Bugger off, I mailed a card, ya wanker.

As for me, if anyone cares. I wasn’t too perturbed by the day, though the latent discussions over the day plus various social media did irk me. Not sad-sad, more a slow growl that I could deep breath away.

Though. Okay, this is an olde joke. See, I used to work with this kid who is the spitting image of me. We had a running gag that he’s my “son”. We ran this joke so much that people started thinking that we actually were related. His mom (who I also worked with), was also in on the joke.

He wished me a happy father’s day, and thanked me for teaching him how to “make kick-ass tacos”. Maybe it made me smile because it wasn’t obligatory. After all, if he hadn’t said anything, I wouldn’t have cared at all.

Maybe it’s somewhere between resenting mindless pointless obligation and not feeling the innate spark myself. Because when I get that innate spark - I love giving random acts of kindness. No thank-you card required. (Though, I’m not offended by them.)

Think that covers it. What’s the next obligatory day of the year that I’m going to avoid or inadvertently be unaware of?

PS: It’s also one of my grandma’s birthdays, but I don’t have the energy to call and then be asked about HOW IS TIMMY?

PPS: I know both my grandmas birthdays, but I don’t know either of my parents’ birthdays. Seriously.


WeAreStarStuff June 21, 2021

You must save so much money in greeting cards. 😁

PepperGrape June 22, 2021

How’s the new job going?

Timmy™ PepperGrape ⋅ June 22, 2021

Steep learning curve. But when it's easy, I stop doubting myself as much. I work mostly by myself, despite being surrounded by people. It's a good balance. As well, there isn't much oversight. Very little of anyone breathing down my neck. As well, bosses above me have been supportive so far.

Maybe I got so used to never getting much praise as a manager. Ha ha. I mean, as a manager, I was the one GIVING praise. To think this pays more.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.