Of Pot and Papaya in These Foolish Things

  • May 22, 2021, 10:15 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Y’all. I am the worst at being a pothead. I am scared of the vape pen and I don’t think I’m doing it correctly. I might try a tiny bit of a gummy tonight instead of the melatonin gummies I’ve been doing on nights 4-14 of my 14-day chemo cycle (the first three nights I take a drug that knocks me right out).

Anyway, I don’t know that vaping is going to work for me, and I just don’t know that vaping is even the right thing to do - especially with all of the warnings out there about vaping anyway.

Also, the papaya thing. Nope. Not going to be doing fresh-cut papaya anymore either. I cut up that stinky thing and added pineapple and grapes and squeezed a lemon over all of it to make a really pretty fruit salad and when I sat down to eat it the papaya made me gag, hard. I’m trying to avoid throwing up as best I can, so the papaya is not going to cut it for me.

So I bought some papaya extract tabs at the health food market and will try those out to see if my platelets bounce back. I got several responses from my FB cancer group when I asked about how to get platelet count back up, and several people (unprompted) said to try the papaya extract tabs - that they’ve seen amazing success with them. One noter told me that her husband’s extremely low platelet count bounced back in a week!

Bob and weave. Change course. Be flexible. Try it all and then roll with what works. Don’t give up. Keep figuring this out.

This is my life right now.

GS


Athena May 22, 2021

https://news.umich.edu/vaping-marijuana-associated-with-more-symptoms-of-lung-damage-than-vaping-or-smoking-nicotine/

Ginger Snap Athena ⋅ May 24, 2021

Yikes. Yeah, I just don't know that I'm cut out for all the extra. And I def don't want to cause more harm than good!

WeAreStarStuff May 22, 2021

I used a vape pen for a little while and it made my lungs gurgle afterward. It freaked me out.

Ginger Snap WeAreStarStuff ⋅ May 24, 2021

OOH NO!!

Complicated Disaster May 22, 2021

Have you tried making pot cookies? Xx

Ginger Snap Complicated Disaster ⋅ May 24, 2021

I have gummies, though I really liked pot brownies! :)

Complicated Disaster Ginger Snap ⋅ May 24, 2021

Ohhh those sound good too! Xx

Jinn May 22, 2021

Cookies sound like a good option to me . I have no life experience but my sons tell me the strain of CBD is important. Some soothe and help more with nausea than others. The papaya extract tablets are definitely a good way to go . Hugs!

Jinn May 22, 2021 (edited May 22, 2021)

Edited

Foods such a spinach, citrus fruits, kiwis, and dried beans are high in folate, while eggs, milk, cheese, liver, and mutton are high in vitamin B12. Both of these vitamins are vital to build platelets .

Ginger Snap Jinn ⋅ May 24, 2021

Thank you!!! I love all of the above fruits and foods!

Jinn Ginger Snap ⋅ May 24, 2021

❤️

bobbi01 May 22, 2021

First hand knowledge from your group friends is invaluable.

Parliament May 22, 2021

Edibles are the way to go. Or RSO if you can get your hands on it (it was made FOR cancer patients). Wish you lived closer. I’d have you dosed right up.

Ginger Snap Parliament ⋅ May 24, 2021

Awww. I wish I lived closer too. I have read a little about RSO. Need more info on how to get my hands on it.

plushcreep May 22, 2021

Vaping never did much for me. Gummies, on the other hand? OH. YEAH.

Not a fan of papaya either.

Gangleri May 22, 2021

Edibles are to go. Much easier.

echopod May 22, 2021

I agree with trellis! Vaping is the way to micro dose. Edibles are wildly different with different effects and you can’t decide to back off when you’re on that train. If you were in CO, I’d recommend the THC and CBD lotion I had. I just felt…niiiice after using it. Not stoned.

I am the only person in the world who likes papaya.

colder May 23, 2021 (edited May 23, 2021)

Edited

I think they sell papaya dried as a snack in some places. That might be a bit easier to eat. With those supplements it's hard to know what you're getting - what the purity is, how old they are, or how much nutritional value was lost in the extraction process (as with any supplement it's always better to get it from your diet if you can). But you have the right mindset - do what you can, be nimble and flexible, and trust the process.

Ginger Snap colder ⋅ May 24, 2021

This is true! I know for sure that I like dried papaya - I've had before in trail mixes, etc. I'm going to look for that.

Marg May 28, 2021

I love dried papaya and pineapple mixed - used to eat a bag of it every night - but am not sure how much nutritional value it has in that state - it’s probably mostly sugar! :)

pandora June 05, 2021

The best papaya I ever had was in Maui and it was heavenly - but other times, I haven't found it great.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.