Sit Down. in Whey and Sonic Screwdrivers.

  • May 7, 2021, 8:04 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I sat down for dinner.

No, I don’t think you realize how big a deal this is. See, usually I sit in front of the TV. It’s such a habit that I have spent some time thinking about just how long it is has been since I sat down at a dinner table to eat by myself. Eating dinner at a dinner table is among many small “habit changes” I have annotated on my calendar.

Seems less stressful than an arcing hour-by-hour schedule change, no?

I was so antsy. I wanted to get up and pace. In part because I couldn’t remember if Candi and I sat at our table or not. That was back in 2012/13, so forgive my memory.

Thankfully, communicate lines are open.

She said we did. That makes sense. Going from our cramped rooms to sit at a TABLE? (As, Candi and I moved in February 2012.) I stayed in “our” apartment far longer than I should, so I guess the memories of me sitting alone, in Daisy*, eating outweigh some other memories.

*Daisy was my recliner.

Such nice memories with Candi. When you’re in a good mood, remembering nice things can make you smile. When you’re a fragile mess like me, it makes you cry. Yes. I cried over wondering about how often Candi and I sat down at a table for dinner in our flat.

PS: Bonus dichotomy: When you remember something that annoyed you, but now you miss it. If I slept over at her parents’, she’d sleep in her bed, and I’d sleep on her futon. Annoyed me at the time. Now it’s a “Shucks, can’t have that again”.

PPS: I don’t think I’ve sat down to eat, at a table, by myself, at home, with frequency, since I was 17.


Last updated May 07, 2021


Fallen Angel 2525 May 07, 2021

It is a rarity for me not to be at a sit down meal. Very very seldom do I eat something at the tv or computer.

AnOrangeZebra May 10, 2021

<3

JSL May 13, 2021

I never sit down and eat at the table. My life with 3 kids yet we never actually have a sit down meal only time we sit eat and communicate is when we have a meal at my moms. other wise we are normally all on the couch eating and watching tv.

Perhaps that will be in the change list.

Timmy™ JSL ⋅ May 13, 2021

Small child is too young (and too messy) to eat on the couch. (She's 9 now.) When we'd eat at the table, well. Wife and I's spots would be relatively clean. Over the course of a week, small child's spot, well. Her spot would get dirty. She'd whine, and we'd point out that she's the only one who sits there, haha.

(Highly recommend a dedicated Family Game Night. Sorry/Monopoly/Life, etc. Teaches math without them thinking it's a classroom. Small child is a sore loser [and sore winner], but it's still worth it.)

JSL Timmy™ ⋅ May 14, 2021

Every sunday is family day. typically we will go to my mothers and play games on the switch as a family.. such a technology life now.. I don't even thing I own any board games maybe some should be put on the to buy list. Middle child hates losing and overly gloats when he wins. my youngest (6) just loves any sort of praise.

Timmy™ JSL ⋅ May 14, 2021

I didn't grow up near my grandparents, so that's "extended family" to me. I grew up pestering my mom regularly to play board games.

When I was ten I learned to play Pinochle. That's my association.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.