blah in Bittersweet

  • May 5, 2021, 8:16 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

my manager told me its going to be 6 months till that promotion she mentioned. 6 months?!?! Shes all so dont do anything major bad lol. Like hahaa. Yeah i dont do anything wrong. I train people, i work my ass off. Im a good employee. But this job opening isnt for 6 more months. So what the heck do i do… Try to find something truely part time that will pay better maybe? Something 3 days a week? Go back to staying at home but never have any more and not be able to afford stuff. 1600 a month is something helpful you know. But here we are and ive only got 55 hours on my previous paycheck. I mean i guess thats what we get used to getting less hours right? I only did 3 and a half days last week. So if i were to do that, then i would end up only getting 50 hours bi weekly. And at 12 an hr that isnt much. And yes it does become an issue of if its worth it. The discount is great. But i dont know. Im not sure what to do. Because on the one hand i do like my job, on the other hand the pay is shit and hell even my kid at taco bell makes more money then i do an hour.
But i guess its all risk. I just wish that i had some kind of skills that would make me desirable at more then retail. Or legit work from home jobs that arent mlm or on the phone all day.


Jinn May 05, 2021

Figure out what you can get by on financially and how many hours you can tolerate well . Then ask for that many hours only . Look at all the places hiring in the area. You know you have retail skills so that opens up any sort of store . :-)

ChainedChrysalis Jinn ⋅ May 05, 2021

yeah. As stupid as it is it would be nice to just work 4 hours a day, or 5 hours a day. Im finding a lot of customer service jobs in hospitals and whatnot but i dont want 8 hours a day 5 days a week.

Jinn May 05, 2021

Also look at sales for companies .

Small Town Girl May 07, 2021

I feel your struggle. I'd look for something else too of I were you though. Fast food sucks obviously, but you might be able to do shorter shifts there.

ChainedChrysalis Small Town Girl ⋅ May 07, 2021

Right. Im not sure if they would do 4-5 hour shifts. Im debating about what is the best " story" as to whyh i cant work that long haha. What would people go oh ok gotcha.

Small Town Girl ChainedChrysalis ⋅ May 07, 2021

Just tell them that you have joint pain and would just like shorter shifts if at all possible.

Jinn May 09, 2021

Tell them you have to be home for your kids . That is a very legitimate excuse these days.

ChainedChrysalis Jinn ⋅ May 09, 2021

My mother in law is going out of town and i may use that as a "vacation" and be all the husband is back to commuting and i cant leave the littles alone.

Jinn ChainedChrysalis ⋅ May 09, 2021

Good idea!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.