Grams. in Whey and Sonic Screwdrivers.

  • April 28, 2021, 12:27 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I started watching Dawson’s Creek on a whim. To razz it. To see how “bad” it is, akin to how Candi and I watched the Twilight movies so we could have an objective opinion rather than blindly shade it.

And yes, I have facepalmed enough times there might be an imprint on my forehead.

See, every character is the worst.

For context, I’m near the end of Season 3.

Dawson is the worst. Joey is the worst. Pacey has his moments of altruism, but he’s also the worst. Jen is a masterclass in character torture. Can the girl get a frakking break?

The writing. Henry. Starts off as a clumsy waiter. Dropping dishes. Few episodes later, he’s an american handball star.

What.

Jack is overall a decently well-written character. Some episodes regarding HE’S GAY HE’S GAY HE’S GAY are a little heavy-handed. However, at the same time, said what needed to be said. I had to pause when Jack wanted to go to prom with Ethan. To think back of whether my high school restricted couples to boy/girl. I’m really not sure. I vaguely recall a number of single girls vying to go with their girl friends.

Because, why not?

At least in Jersey, at the time, it was socially acceptable for girls to show affection for each other and not be coded as anything other than friends. Hand-holding? Locking arms? Girls can do that.

Boys can’t unless they have a case of TEH GAYZ.

All the adults in the show are the worst, too. Dawson’s parents are the worst. Pacey’s parents are the worst. The McPhee’s parents are the worst.

Grams.

It’s clear the writers started her off as an antagonist. She disrespects Jen left and right for Jen being atheist.

Again, I’m nearing the end of season 3. I’m not sure what happens to Grams.

So far?

Grams has some Jersey in her. She will straight-talk the shit out of you, and then give you a hug. And a safe place to sleep. She doesn’t care if she hurts your feelings. Sometimes feelings need to be hurt to get through your thick skull.

alt text

(Yes, there are character flaws. But, that’s a good thing. I digress.)


Last updated April 28, 2021


PepperGrape April 28, 2021

As a Washingtonian, don’t even get me started on Twilight.

She moves to Forks and everyone at the high school is using an umbrella. PLEASE. We don’t use umbrellas here! That’s how we weed out the transplants! Plus, it’s the rainiest place in the US and she leaves her truck window down?! OMG.

Timmy™ PepperGrape ⋅ April 28, 2021

I am not above using an umbrella. Short distances, I can see skipping. Walking small child to and from school? She would huddle next to me under an umbrella.

gattaca April 28, 2021

You should watch Preacher, that'll bake your noodle. :-))
You'd love Tulip.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.