The Current State in 2014

  • April 30, 2014, 11:29 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

So, where things stand right now....

I will have my second, and final, surgery for the sleep apnea at some point in June. I'm working out the date right now between my doctor's availability and what I can get off work. It'll be for the deviated septum, and should be a relatively easier surgery and recovery process. My mom, brother, and I are tentatively planning on a trip up to Chattanooga during the week I'll take off work, depending on how I feel after the surgery.

The big thing going on right now is figuring out what to do with my grandmother. Her dementia's bad, and she's just become more than my mom can handle, especially given that my brother and I can only help her so much with our work schedules. She's finally accepted that the best option is to put my grandmother in an assisted living facility of some sort. She and my brother when yesterday to tour one here close to home (while I stayed down at the house with my grandmother). It's the third one we've checked, and the on my mom likes the best. So, right now the goal is to have my grandmother in there by the end of May if possible. It'll go a long way to helping my mom get to a better place physically and emotionally.

I need to make a concerted effort to change my eating habits, among other things. I was doing well back in the fall, but this year hasn't been particularly helpful. I've been focusing on the sleep stuff, but I need to do a lot more than that. So what and how I eat will be something I need to target soon.

My writing...... I've been brainstorming a lot. There are a lot of ideas, and desire to write, rolling through my head lately. The big issue is two-fold. The first is the lack of energy... the overall exhaustion that just makes everything difficult. Hence the focus on my sleep and eating habits. The second is.....mindset. There are some hang-ups in my head that I need to either deal with or just bulldoze through, but that's a whole other entry to write.

For now, a shower and shave before work. I hope everyone's doing well (and I need to spend some time on here hooking up with some new people, too, I think, to expand my readers).


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.