Bagel cravings in Weight Loss Surgery

  • March 9, 2021, 7:58 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I woke up on Monday wanting a big fat everything bagel with a block of cream cheese!!!

I texted my mom and sis and they were like - what about those 2 ingredient bagels from WW?

So My sis came over with Greek yogurt cause I didn’t have any and she basically made the bagels cause she didn’t like how I was kneading the super sticky dough.

We made them and I LOVE them - but she doesn’t like the sourdough taste of the bread due to the Greek yogurt.

I had 2 for dinner! My stomach was EXPLODING but the craving is gone! And there’s 2 left for Will. I left to go to work before he came home so I dunno when he’s gonna try them.

My family really recued me cause I was THISCLOSE to ordering breakfast sandwiches for me and Will yesterday morning so I could get my big fat bagel.

  • 1c self rising flour
  • 1c greek yogurt molded into a loaf
  • Cut into 4 pieces, each piece rolled out into a snake and then make into a bagel (or pretzel) with toppings.
  • Toppings could be extra stuck with milk or egg whites - I had neither and used margarine for my everything bagel topping

-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-===-=-=-=-=-=-=

In other news Will has his 1 month check up with the WLS doctor today.

I hope the doc goes well. I also hope that he tells the doc about his struggles and the gets on him about tracking his food.

I don’t know Will’s weight right now - I dunno how much he’s lost in total. I think he’s down 41 lbs from his highest weight, but at one point he was down 48 lbs. I just want him to keep his downward trend.

I think, ever since he gained, he learned the lesson that you can’t cheat on this and continue to lose - even with this surgery - and hopefully he’s more careful about his food choices.

Which I know he is being because that’s why it was so hard for him to order out over the weekend. He knows what foods are bad and he doesn’t want to ruin this…


Last updated March 09, 2021


lessoff March 09, 2021

i dont think i like that 2 ingredient dough at all. i gave up on that years ago. LOL. im glad it got rid of your craving.

Ellen Ripley March 09, 2021

Does the yoghurt add nutritional value to the bread? Why not just use water and yeast, no calories in those! I want to try this and see if I can make it "yummy." My friend who had WLS says she's worked for every single pound lost -- you're definitely right, this is no easy fix!

sedentary Ellen Ripley ⋅ March 09, 2021

I think something about specifically Greek yogurt helps it cook right. Nutritionally I don't know! I feel like if we just put water it would be a flat bread?

Ellen Ripley sedentary ⋅ March 09, 2021

Ooooh yes, I think it must act as a "shortening" So I haven't tried it, but I wonder if it's softer bread? I bake a lot, so this is a big topic for me, and your mention of "bagels" caught my eye. Bagels are typically made with only flour, water, salt, and yeast, so flour is the only ingredient with calories! I really want to try a Greek yoghurt bread, though, it sounds nutritious and yummy and "tangy" if the proportions could be worked out and all.

sedentary Ellen Ripley ⋅ March 10, 2021

I used self rising flour so the bread did rise and it was soft but when I make the next I might add even more baking powder for more rise / bubbles etc. But yes you're right - it is tangy, which I love but it's not everyone's favorite.

ninakir88 March 11, 2021

oh how fun!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.