Court and COVID shot in My life....I can't make this shit up!

  • Feb. 25, 2021, 1:07 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yesterday was a hearing for my divorce. Of course my ex did not show up or call in. The judge said that the whole purpose of the court was to see “why he didn’t show up to mediation.” The judge didn’t let me get a word in before he told the case manager that he wanted to schedule another mediation to see if he would show. I politely interrupted the judge and informed him that there has been no contact since 2008 and that he’s not going to show up to another mediation. I told him I wanted this whole thing over. The judge asked when we had last contact and if there’s contact with Cam (or as he said “the children”). I told him again he left in 2008 and the only contact that there’s been was in August 2020 when all he gave me was an address to send paperwork to. The judge changed his mind and told the case manager to schedule a final default hearing. I have no clue when that will be yet, but I’m glad he changed his mind. There’s a bit of relief knowing that the next time I go to court I will be divorced!
Since court was so early in the day and only lasted 3 minutes Brian and I decided to take a mental health day and spend some time together. I had also got a text from my boss letting me know that my second COVID shot is at 3.
I facetimed Mom for a little bit to tell her how court went and found out her trach is gone! :) She’s on regular oxygen and when we were talking it wasn’t even on. Sometime this week she’ll be going down to the Skilled Nursing Facility.
After we talked with Mom we went down to Best Buy because I’ve been wanting a new smartwatch and I decided it was okay to spoil myself. I got a Samsung Active 2, then we went to Olive Garden for lunch, called his folks to give them updates, and came home. Brian crashed on the couch and I played with my watch.
I was supposed to get my shot at 3 so I left my house about 2:15 so I had time to get to the Assisted Living Facility that was giving them. It was obnoxious. I sat in my car for 2 hours!! Luckily I was next to a couple of co-workers from another office that I don’t see often so we were talking to kill some time. We finally got our shots at 5PM!
I got home, we decided to get dinner so Brian went and picked it up, then I went to sleep before 8! I didn’t get much sleep the night before and sitting in the direct sun for 2 hours zapped me. I didn’t even eat all my dinner, only about half of it before going right to bed.
Today, I’m feeling okay. Still a bit tired, and my arm is killer sore! Hopefully I don’t get any other side effects!!


colojojo February 25, 2021

I don’t know what the laws are in your state, but I know in WI, if you have not shared a household/been separated for over a year, it can be defaulted to divorce right away. Did the judge know that he wasn’t around since 2008 from initial paperwork or no? Glad it went in your favor nonetheless. Best of luck!

JennyAmi colojojo ⋅ February 25, 2021

In my county in Florida all divorces are split between two judges. The judge I have says every divorce with minors have to go through the same process, and even though I put in the initial petition that there's been no contact he still is making me go through the same process. It's been dragged out since August! At least there's an end in sight now!

stargazing February 25, 2021

the folks I know how have had 2 shots say they had mild flu like symptoms for couple days after their second shot...In addition to the arm pain. Hope you are feeling ok.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.