I hope this continues in My life....I can't make this shit up!

  • Feb. 24, 2021, 1:47 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Mom has been progressing the past few days.
Last Thursday she managed to call me at 7:30 in the morning and after about 10 minutes I was able to figure out what she was saying. The doctor had come in and told her she was going to the LTACH by Saturday. This was less than 24 hours after being told the insurance company had denied the LTACH for the 6th time and that she was going to stay at the hosptial she’s in and get stepped down from there. She was so worried about affording the hospital. Dad was still home, so I told him and he went flying out of the house. I spent all day fighting with (yet another) new case manager and the doctors on the phone. Finally the decided to take the feeding tube out and put a PEG line on her belly. Once this was confirmed the local Skilled Nursing Facilities began accepting her. Go fucking figure…I had been asking for two weeks for this to happen. Just sayin’…
I’m glad they changed the feeding tube, because some switch or something went off and mom has started to make progress. She has been walking more, she is on regular oxygen, and today they had the oxygen blowing next to the trach not connecting to it. They were supposed to work on putting some sort of switch/plug thing in that will help her talk. When they tried she got a bit anxious and her numbers started going all sorts of wonky, but they were going to keep trying. I’ll know more tomorrow after Dad goes to the hospital. Once she starts talking and communicating more then she’ll be transferred to a SNF in Stuart. They also allow two people to visit in one day, just not at the same time, so I’ll be able to go see Mom.
Tomorrow’s a big day for me. I have a hearing tomorrow for my divorce. One of two things are going to happen, the judge is either going to approve the divorce or schedule one more hearing date. I’m hoping he just accepts that Jeremy has not done anything he’s supposed to and finalizes the divorce. I’m a bit anxious about everything tonight. I hope I get some sleep later on tonight....


stargazing February 24, 2021

Sending positive thoughts you way. So glad your Mom is doing better!

JennyAmi stargazing ⋅ February 25, 2021

Thank you!! I appreciate it!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.