He Gained in Weight Loss Surgery

  • Feb. 22, 2021, 6:43 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I don’t know exactly when it happened but at one point he was 355 and when he stepped on the scale this weekend he was 359. And that got him a little panicked.

So he said wanted to take a walk in the mall for exercise (not shop) and then go to his parents house. Fine by me.

When we did go visit his family, they raved about me and Will’s weight loss. I can’t remember when last I saw them but with Will’s surgery and then the snow, it had been a couple of weeks so it was maybe a bigger deal to them.

That, of course makes me feel awkward but it’s to be expected after weight loss surgery. They’re happy for me.

But what was even worse was when they asked how much I lost and I told them 45 lbs (over an 8 month period) his mother…

the one who cried when Will told her we were getting the surgery and told us both NOT to do it because of all the complications her daughter had with it back in 2003

his mother turned to her daughter and said “call their doctor right now and get the surgery”.

which was surprising and I feel a little rude!

I think I’ve explained before that his sister had the bypass - I believe in 2003. I don’t think they did it laparoscopically. I think she had a very hard time healing because she had a bigger incision and it took months and lots of vomitting to eat normal. Her family regretted her decision to do this for a long time after. And then she got pregnant and gained the weight back.

So there was that. I never got to talk to her about if she was insulted by what they said.

Since the begining of me and Will’s journey doing this surgery, she never said she wanted to try again with another WLS. And she is fully aware that after already having a bypass so many years ago, it might be a little complicated to have another surgery. Plus she a cancer survivor and prone to blood clots. She has hashimotos and I don’t know what else so she’s on a lot of medication for pre existing conditions. I’m not sure how she’d have another WLS but I don’t know if she wants it.

Then we ordered Chineese. Yes, I knew there would be bad options at their place BUT me and Will split the General Tso’s tofu (yes it’s fried and the sauce is sweet) but we had no rice, noodle, fortune cookies, egg rolls, etc. So we did the best we could.

My fingers are a little swollen this morning so I know my blood must taste like a salt lick this morning but we don’t usually eat this way.

I just plan to flush it all out with a lot of water today…


Last updated February 22, 2021


lessoff February 22, 2021

i thought will was closer to 400 pounds than 300 pounds.....your entry says he is at 255.

by the way a huge portion of the population has hashimotos (I do). mine is typically ok with meds but they need to adjust it all of the time.

sedentary lessoff ⋅ February 22, 2021

oops I gotta change it

ninakir88 February 22, 2021

maybe the sodium bloated him from the chinese food?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.