OMFG in Weight Loss Surgery

Revised: 02/16/2021 2:49 p.m.

  • Feb. 16, 2021, 10:25 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I don’t know if you’ll remember but a couple weeks ago when Will was in his 2 week liquid diet and we went to his mom’s house.

His mom’s only job in life is to feed people - which is why both her kids are 400lbs

So when we were over there he was teasing his mom about how HUNGRY he was and how he really wanted PANCAKES and she said something like it felt like actual torture to her to know he was hungry and not be able to feed him.

So now, a week after surgery, he goes to his mom’s house. I told him to take a shake or a smoothie with him so he isn’t tempted by her food. He didn’t.

His mom has PANCAKES ready for him and HE EATS THEM. I bet with butter and syrup.

I don’t know how much he ate but that’s it.

I’m done trying to help him.

What kills me is that when he struggles with his weight loss he’s gonna blame the surgery as if it doesn’t work and if I dare bring up that he was eating FUNNEL CAKE FRIES and PANCAKES a week out from WEIGHT LOSS SURGERY we’ll get in a fight because I’m “never on his side” about things.

I am completely done.

And I know some people reading this might be like, oh it was just a little this or that but the point is the surgery isn’t all there is to it.

There has to be a MIND SHIFT as well where you LEARN about how to eat healthy and you at least ATTEMPT to do it.

The liquid diet was just a pre cursor because in those 2 weeks you have to refrain from everything unhealthy. I don’t even know if he did cause he was still working and I wasn’t with him.

And then you continue it until you’re ready for more solid food. And even though you’re eating solid food you’re supposed to limit carbs forever cause it’s EMPTY CALORIES!

Even I eat SOME carbs. Pasta, rice, etc. mainly with my pre made dinners so it’s portioned out. I’ve even had some fries! And I recognized that fries are one of those things I can’t be trusted around so I’m going to try to avoid them.

I’m just… I want success for him and I feel like he isn’t trying. As if shrinking his stomach is enough. And maybe it is FOR NOW but over time it won’t be.

I’m disappointed. And it doesn’t have to do with losing weight cause I’ve never forced him to do this and I love him at whatever weight he ends up.

I just thought we were doing this together and we’re not. I’m getting in the 64 oz of liquid, I’m getting the 60 grams of protein, I’m removing the bun from my burger and avoiding the fries, I’m taking the vitamins, I’m taking stops between bites to see when I reach fullness, I’m worrying about staying on track - and he’s eating pancakes.

-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
He was joking…

I hate when Will acts like an annoying brother instead of a grown man.

So when he got to his mom’s house he was sending me pictures of pancakes and texting that he was eating them. And I just didn’t respond cause I was fuming.

But finally I had to text and I simply said “I’m annoyed you ate pancakes” which seems ridiculous and petty but I had to get it out or I’d be pissy at him in person when he came home.

That’s when he told me he was teasing me.

He ate soup before he went to his moms house.

His mom did make pancakes for the family when he stopped by and he said he had one bite of his fathers and resisted when his mom wanted to make him some.

I’m not going to get mad over one bite. He came over in the morning so he came just in time for their breakfast. Now he’s been there all day so I don’t know what he did come lunch time but I’M SO GLAD he didn’t crack at his mom’s house.

I’m glad he KNOWS that would be a wrong decision and when faced with the temptation he didn’t go whole hog.

I don’t have much faith in him, but I guess I have to trust him a little more.

Now that doesn’t erase the funnel cake fries fiasco but I hope over time he’ll stop craving the bad stuff so much. Summer is coming and with it comes a ton of bad food - but he also loves fruit (I don’t) so maybe he’ll be ok…


Last updated February 16, 2021


lessoff February 16, 2021

it has to be frustrating.

Des February 16, 2021

Oh, yeah...sorry. Hadn't got to this post. YES! The surgery is just a tool. He has to put the work behind it. The stomach is a muscle. He can stretch it back out. But I am a bit amazed that not even 2 weeks out of surgery he is eating those things.

Yes, but you had a fry or two. Not a helping and you threw the rest away!! And you worried he would be mad?!

I am so sorry. But please, don't you stop! Don't you let him let you fail too. You are going to rock it. You have thr most amazing mind set to be successful!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.