Drama in Weight Loss Surgery

Revised: 02/05/2021 9:55 a.m.

  • Feb. 5, 2021, 7:57 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

So I haven’t really mentioned in here but me and my husband were both going for the surgery.

We both got approved around the same time but due to his job, he couldn’t get the surgery in 2020 like I could. So the soonest appt for him was 2/8/21.

So he’s been on the liquid diet, etc. He passed his cv19 test. The last step was having our primary doc sign off.

The hitch is, the doc told us both to call our primary and tell them we’re approved. I did that. He didn’t. I didn’t do it for him because since our surgeries were at different times he didn’t have to call as early as I did.

So yesterday the WLS office calls me and says that that Will’s primary hasn’t signed off on him being approved. The WLS doc faxed papers that the doc needs to sign and fax back to say that she also approves, before they’ll give him a time to go to the hospital on 2/8.

So I ask Will, did you call the doc? And he says no, I thought I didn’t have to - you didn’t. And I’m like I TOLD YOU I called and that it was a 5 min convo no biggie. And I told you that you had to do it too.

SO I call our primary yesterday and they’re closed by 4pm. So I call at 8am today and they said the paperwork the WLS office sent it wrong, Will needs to come into the office for one more appt, and the doc doesn’t work on Fridays and NO other doctor can see him today and approve him. Because I was on speakerphone Will heard and EXPLODED.

SO I call the WLS office and they’re not open till 9, so I leave a message and will email and will call back but Will has been raging for almost an hour.

It’s extremely disappointing. I wish he would cry instead of rage. I almost feel like he wants to cry but won’t let himself and so instead he rages. And at this point it isn’t at ME, it’s at the entire health community.

What also has him boiling is that this doc office has messed up his bloodwork twice during this process and never informed us that he needed one last visit. Plus the fact that my process went smoothly. They never messed up my blood work and I think I only had to see my primary twice. When I called for the approval they didn’t surprise me with needing another appointment and all the drama that he’s gone through.

And so he’s playing the WHY ME game which I have no answers to. EXCEPT for the fact that he didn’t call the doc earlier. We knew for at least a month that his date was 2/8. He could have called and got the ball rolling earlier AND I DID SAY THAT but he’s sticking with the story that he didn’t know he had to call EVEN THOUGHT HE FULLY REMEMBERS that I did and it wasn’t a big deal.

So now, worst case scenario that I don’t want to think about, he may have to reschedule his surgery and do the 2 week liquid diet that he already was struggling with ALL OVER AGAIN.

I’m not looking forward to that either..... 2 more weeks of whining and complaining?

He’s talking about not getting the surgery at all.

I’ve never pushed him into this so I told him if he chooses not to go through with it, that’s his choice, but I do think he will still want to go through with it when he calms down.

I tried to hug him but he wasn’t having it - his stomach’s all upset now. I feel terrible and I’m just hoping for a positive outcome.

-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

So I got through to the WLS doc and told them our dilemma with our primary. They said that they sent the right paperwork and all they’re looking for is the primary to make a notation that Will going for surgery is OK with them. I know the primary is technically off but if she can just put her initials on the paperwork via fax or email it would help us a great deal.

The WLS office also said since Will was at the doc in Nov they see no reason why he needs ANOTHER appt 2 months later for the approval. And since his surgery is scheduled for 730AM MONDAY there’s not really time for that.

Luckily the WLS office said THEY would call the primary office tell them all this.

So like 5 minutes later the WLS calls WILL instead of me and tells him (who’s cranky and in bed) that he needs to make an appointment with another primary at our doc office (even though the doc office already told me that’s not possible) to do the last appointment (that no one thinks he needs) to get approved or he will not be able to get his surgery on Monday morning.

So he told the WLS office to cancel and reschedule. He said he’s too tired after being up 16 hours to run around and make an appointment with a new doc to get approved for surgery.

Now you and me both know, no matter how tired you are, you make time for things you really want.

So I was kinda pissed at home but wasn’t gonna say anything.

THEN the WLS office called Will back (again not me) and said that the WLS doctor said that he can do the surgery WITHOUT the primary’s approval so he is set to get his surgery!

We’re both very happy.

And I did tease him a bit about making a mountain out of a molehill.

I TRY to keep a positive attitude and believe it all will work out and Will makes fun of me like I’m a baby with rose colored glasses on but usually THINGS DO WORK OUT and he never wants to believe that or have any hope!

SO in the end all is well…


Last updated February 05, 2021


ninakir88 February 05, 2021

So frustrating.. I’m sorry

sedentary ninakir88 ⋅ February 05, 2021

Things worked out and he actually IS going to get his surgery this Monday so now all is well!

FitLadyDi February 05, 2021

Whew!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.