Memories & Summer of 2020 in Scottish Meanderings

  • Jan. 30, 2021, 2:34 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I almost thought I wasn’t going to get anything written in here this month because I had some really strange lurgy thing for weeks on end which mainly took the form of constant low grade nausea, very disturbed sleep (five completely sleepless nights this month alone) and feeling absolutely unbelievably crap ALL the time.

Nothing distracted. Nothing helped. My poos went a horrible clay colour. And it scared the shit (no pun intended) out of me.

And then last Saturday it seemed to lift for no apparent reason whatsoever and I’m ok again. So I have no clue what that was all about but am thinking maybe I should go and get a blood test from the doc just to get things checked out. Won’t do any harm.

When I was in the thick of it I was on the phone to my brother, Ian, who is dealing with the estate of my late Uncle Tommy along with my cousin, Jane. Tommy never married and had no children so there will be some money coming to his six nieces and nephews and Ian was saying it should be a sizeable sum. And all I could think was it could be six trillion billion smackeroos - I really don’t care - I just want to feel better! And I totally meant it.


Isn’t it funny the things which evoke memories and take us right back to a different time and place in an instant?

The chiming of a carriage clock while watching The Crown one night had me right back in any favourite aunt and uncle’s house remembering their old clock on the sideboard which chimed in dulcet tones every quarter of an hour and was strangely comforting, not irritating.

Very much like the second chime of this one.


That produced all kinds of poignant memories of summer holidays, days out, trips in double decker buses, days at the beach, taking the dog for a walk, breakfast in bed, all sorts!

And then purely by swinging round an open bag of frozen carrots one afternoon so that the corners twisted to give a better seal, I was instantly transported back to my Dad’s baker’s shop where I did that exact same action a million times a week after school and on Saturdays.

Swinging paper bags full of rolls, softies, rowies, muffins, scones, pancakes, Chelsea Buns, Eccles cakes, Paris Buns, macaroons, custard fancies, jam doughnuts, doughrings, biscuits, pies of every kind and much much more quickly and efficiently while keeping up an easy banter with each customer and totting up the total of everything (in my head mind you!) all at the same time - I was a shy, quiet kid when I started working there and that job did wonders for my confidence :)

Fancier cakes and cream cakes were put into boxes - which was another tricky thing to master - you had to fold it just the right way for all the bits to slot into place, being careful not to get cream on your fingers or the box, while trying to keep up with the chatter, remember the next thing being asked for and how much it was all adding up to!

But the memory was very timely because the next morning a friend alerted me to a post in a Facebook group I’m part of called Inverness When You Were A Kid - old shared memories of my home town from those who live/lived there.

Someone had put up a post with a picture of the shop but when my great Uncle Tom had it before Dad -


- this would be around the 1920s/30s - my brother thinks it might be a promotional picture for the firm who supplied him with the vans. Uncle Tom is second from the left at the front of the shop with his daughter, Ray, to his left beside him - his only surviving child, having lost a son, Alexander, at age 3 and a daughter, Christabel, at age 9 (Dad said he was so grief stricken he ran through the streets of Inverness from the hospital to his house with Christabel’s body when she died).

Instantly there ensued a veritable flurry of comments from other people with lovely memories of the shop, Dad, the staff, the bread, cakes, vans, jobs, everything. Some of it was so nice I was moved to tears.

At the same time, completely unaware of this, one of our Canadian relatives, Stephen, descended from one of Dad's uncles, (Tom's brother) who had emigrated over there, was sharing some family photos he was going through, one of which was my grandfather's van. He also had a shop although a very much smaller one and more of a general store - way up in the Highlands of Scotland in a place called Nigg, near Tain in Ross-shire.

A large part of his bread and butter would have been deliveries to the outlying towns and villages round about and Stephen had found a picture of his van which we’d never seen before. He thinks it would have been taken around the 1920s as well - just a shame it's not great quality but you can't expect much from that era. He accompanied it with "On the back of the photo is just written 'Dan's Van'. In this age of COVID-19, delivery vans make up a lot of the traffic in our neighbourhood - Dan was a man a hundred years ahead of his time."


So there was Stephen sharing lots of lovely memories of Mam and Dad when him and his wife came over on a trip to Scotland just after they were married, my cousin was chiming in with more lovely memories of them and there was a whole host of lovely memories about Dad, the shop, etc. us as kids, pinging through every five minutes on my e-mail.

Compounded even further when I posted a pic in the Facebook group of the shop, staff and their families when Dad had it to show the difference between them which produced another slew of equally lovely memories!


That one would have been taken around 1960 judging by my roughly 2 year old toddler self at the front who looks like I have other plans and am trying to escape! My sister, ever my protector, is holding me in place. And I notice Uncle Tom still very much takes centre court while poor Dad is shoved at the back beside the iron gate (on its right beside the lady with short, dark, wavy hair), trying to get his face into his own picture :)

I love how well thought of he still is after 45 years :)

And on the theme of memories, Nikki decided to make a video of our lockdown summer just to prove that they all still had plenty of fun throughout it all and so that we could look back on it in the future to see what it meant to us. There’s a slight glitch around the five minute mark as she had to send it to me in two parts because it was too long to go in a oner so I had to marry the two together and I’m not clever enough to do more than that :)

The end of it is them all going back to school on the first day after lockdown. Plus cat.

I love the music she chose.



thesunnyabyss January 30, 2021

well you just sent me back to my grandmother's apartment laying in bed on the pullout couch in the living room, right next to the clock in the dining room and waiting for the donging to stop, she had the same as the second chimes too, what a great memory,

what a great entry, gotta love old photos and their stories,

and Nicky's video is amazing, brought tears to my eyes, good tears of course, you have such a beautiful family,

be well, have a great day!

Marg thesunnyabyss ⋅ January 31, 2021

Haha I’m glad that produced a lovely memory for you too - the funny thing is a clock like that in the house now would drive me completely bonkers!
I can’t watch that dang video without dripping either :)

thesunnyabyss Marg ⋅ January 31, 2021

Nope, no way that clock would be thrown out a window these days, but it was a staple at my Gramma's place, I almost miss now, lol,

ConnieK January 30, 2021

Loved the chime. I think that picture of your uncle's/Dad's store was probably taken in the 1920s, judging by the cars and dress styles. That was a great video and I'm impressed that you could put the two parts together!

Marg ConnieK ⋅ January 31, 2021

I was impressed as well!! :)

Oswego January 30, 2021 (edited January 30, 2021)

Edited

This is such a delightful entry, Marg. Loved the description of your times spent working on your Dad’s bakery, and what a list of scrumptious pastries! It seems life must have been simpler and more fun back then.

I had a favorite bakery in Nee Orleans where I loved to get cinnamon buns and banana coffee cake with deliciously rich icing on top.

Precious memories preserved in that family video, too. Well done!

Marg Oswego ⋅ January 31, 2021

I’m sure we’re looking through rose-tinted glasses but life did seem simpler and more fun then! :) I’m actually amazed the names of so many buns and cakes came straight to me without any effort - clearly I sold a lot of them haha!

Oswego Marg ⋅ January 31, 2021

I have 6 pairs of rose-tinted glasses lying around in case I misplace or lose one or more of them. 😋🥺

Marg Oswego ⋅ February 01, 2021

Haha - love that!

Just Annie January 31, 2021

What beautiful memories! Thank you for sharing them.

Marg Just Annie ⋅ February 01, 2021

My pleasure!

NorthernSeeker January 31, 2021

I was smiling all the way through that video, Marg. How many times have you watched it already? I would call that country music...would you? According to Blake Shelton it is supposed to tell a story. Anyways, it certainly shows that some good times were had by all during the lockdown summer. I love the part where you are hugging everyone.

Marg NorthernSeeker ⋅ February 01, 2021

I literally can't watch it without crying and Lily's the same, sensitive souls that we are! But yes I confess to having watched it quite a few times :) I'm not sure what I would call the music - don't think I'd put it in the country category - it's certainly very evocative though and I just love the words :)

Serin February 01, 2021

There's something magnificent seeing tiny you in the same post as those of your lovely little grandkids :)

It feels epic to hear about the bakery with your people and then you in it. Thank you for sharing that.

Marg Serin ⋅ February 01, 2021

My pleasure and I hadn't thought about the first point - you're right!

mcbee February 01, 2021

Lovely video, and I really enjoyed the pictures!

Sabrina-Belle February 01, 2021

What a beautiful video and a lovely nostalgic entry. The clock reminded me of one my parents bought for their 25th anniversary. It also chimed every quarter hour and it sat on the living room mantelpiece. I remember we always missed the first item of the nine o'clock news because it chimed so loud. Sadly after Mum died Hubby lost the box it was packed in and it tuned up in a damp corner of the pantry totally ruined. One thing I nearly didn't forgive him for.
I love the photos of your family's shop and the van.

Marg Sabrina-Belle ⋅ February 01, 2021

Oh that must have been so upsetting!

noko February 01, 2021 (edited February 01, 2021)

Edited

The hugging is wonderful and the fact that it is featured so much in the video is very poignant indeed. It is instructive for me to see the old pictures and your profound sense of connection to family and place. My brother once lived in an apartment that was later turned into a very popular restaurant and I got the oddest sensation eating there...All the laters we inhabit that we take for granted. May you continue to feel better!

Marg noko ⋅ February 03, 2021

The shop is now a restaurant and the first time I ate in it was very weird! In fact I wrote about it - then turned it into a short story and got it published in the People’s Friend which was nice!

Jinn February 02, 2021

I loved reading this and seeing the pictures. The video was great .
Glad you are feeling better .

Marg Jinn ⋅ February 03, 2021

Thank you!

Kristi1971 February 06, 2021

I just LOVE LOVE LOVE the pictures you posted. :) They gave me the warm and fuzzies, and I am not of either of those times. They just make me think of my own ancestors. :)

Marg Kristi1971 ⋅ February 06, 2021

Aw that's lovely!

Exhumed By Scrying Eyes February 20, 2021

What? Were you having sympathy pains? Look, I'm flattered and all, but it's really not necessary. ;)

That's what I say about money. If I had a million dollars, I'd never see a penny of it because every cent would go to my health. I wouldn't even be able to buy new shoes.

Funny how some of the memories kick in. I loathe moving, nay... I passionately hate moving! But I'm an expert at it, an expert at packing, and not just because I've had to move 50x in my life, but for 2 months when I was 19, I worked during the holidays for a packing and shipping company, and I got a crash course on how to pack professionally. I had to pack fragile items in boxes that cost over $10,000 and ship them across the globe without them getting damaged, and I learned how to do this in a day. So when I move, and / or all the times I've helped friends and family move, I'm very meticulous with the packing.

Funny how such a small blip in one's life can have such an impact.

That's a great video to help overshadow the stigma of the year known as 2020.

Marg Exhumed By Scrying Eyes ⋅ February 21, 2021

Hey I go all out for my friends y'know! :)

That's a great skill to have to be honest although not one you would hope to need as often as you have! A friend has just moved and she watched a YouTube vid on how to do it properly from a packing company - it seemed very thorough and meticulous but I can see how a lot of folk would just skip many of the steps to save time. Better safe than sorry though!

edna million March 18, 2021

I LOVE the old pictures! How wonderful to have other people remembering them so fondly as well. I belong to a group on Facebook called something like "Asheville the Way it Was" but sadly it involves so much bickering about how everything was perfect fifty years ago but it's all ruined now , thanks to the newcomers and the liberals that it's hard to enjoy. And - my uncle had a clock with that exact same chime! Oddly I don't think I noticed it in The Crown although in one of the early seasons someone gave Elizabeth a home movie camera (her dad??) and it reminded me SO much of one my parents had, probably around the same year. Nikki did a great job on the video - also on her interview from the last entry!

Marg edna million ⋅ March 19, 2021

Oh yes I was the same with the cine camera! I can remember when Dad got his around the same time and I still have the films here or some of them at least - took them from Mum’s after she died - really need to try and get them onto some form of digital media if I can.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.