Worried for Nothing in Weight Loss Surgery

  • Jan. 28, 2021, 6:56 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

1 month and 1 week PO - 16lbs down from surgery - 37 lbs down from highest weight

Of course I was worried for nothing, like I always am.

So I went to the doc and they weighed me. On my own, naked, I’m 258 now. The doc is tracking me from the highest weight I was in his office so he considers me down like 32lbs. And he said I am right on track.

I told him I was worried it wasn’t enough, and he said it good weight loss. So I’m relieved. I dunno why I thought he was gonna be a hardass on me. He’s never mean. He’s a doctor, so he’s factual but he’s never been “mean”.

I did finally ask him my liver question. After doing the 2 week diet to shrink my liver before surgery he commented to me that my liver was still large. He didn’t really explain what that meant or if I should do anything about it.

So yesterday at the appointment I finally remembered to ask him if I should be worried about my liver? He said no. Most overweight people have a fatty liver. My bloodwork from before the surgery did not indicate anything alarming about my liver so it’s not a super big deal - I just need to keep losing weight to stop my liver from being fatty. It will just happen over time.

So that’s a relief.

He asked about Will and I told him this man is living on beef broth because he doesn’t really like the sweet protein shakes and he’s struggling with hunger.

The doc told me to tell him that the protein shakes are what will keep him full and help him heal after surgery. HE MUST UP HIS PROTEIN because broth is basically salty water and he is already on meds for blood pressure issues.

I know there’s (supposedly) tasteless broth powder you can put into you savory foods to up your protein but it seems like people complain about the powder not being completely tasteless. So you gotta test some brands to see what you like.

When I got home I told Will all this. I don’t know if he’ll buy the powder but he did say this morning that he drank 2 shakes and felt less hungry.

After the doctor I tried to take all the bad food from my house and give it to my family - I visited them after the appointment.

My father was excited for all the bad frozen food and snacks!

When I told Will I was going to do this, at first he was like “Over My Dead Body” and then I did it anyway without telling him and for a minute he was kinda “Hey!” about it but then this morning he actually thanked me because he totally had plans to eat that frozen pizza, etc. over the weekend even though he wasn’t supposed to.

I can’t see what he does when he’s out on his truck. I have to trust he’s doing the right things. But now that he’s given in to the protein shakes and sees that they leave him less hungry, I think he’ll stick to them instead of cheating.

I keep telling him, once the doc opens him up HE’S GOING TO KNOW if he followed the liquid diet or not, so he better just do it.


Ellen Ripley January 28, 2021

Excellent weight loss results!! That's more than 3 pounds per week, that's bonkers!
Protein really does help curb hunger.

sedentary Ellen Ripley ⋅ January 28, 2021

Thanks!

Derelict Heart January 28, 2021

I am allergic to protein shakes... I get the backdoor trots. :(

sedentary Derelict Heart ⋅ January 28, 2021

That's a new one, backdoor trots!

Derelict Heart sedentary ⋅ January 28, 2021

Diarrhea. :P

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.