Musical Associations. in Whey and Sonic Screwdrivers.

  • Jan. 24, 2021, 8:45 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Geez. Pandora played a Blink 182 song, and I thought of a girl I chatted with online when I was 17. Her name was Anna, and she was, well, into Blink 182.

Good god, I haven’t thought about her in over 25 years.

We weren’t super-close, but you know how flirty kids are. Just made me realize that I have no way of contacting her even to say hi. Never got her last name. Maybe I could boot AIM and assuming the server remembers my contact list, I could leave a message? But eh, what’s the point.

Just kind of a sad feeling that there are people who cross our paths that we have NO way of contacting.

Us OD refugees know the feeling. And thus why we’re so tight-knit. Sure, most of us have cell phones, but if the internet were to disappear right now, most of us would lose a LOT. Gosh, maybe I should start collecting and writing down phone numbers…

After all, we thought Blockbuster and MySpace would last forever. Facebook is just another link in the chain of history.


gattaca January 24, 2021 (edited January 24, 2021)

Edited

Ha - this song brings back all my Summer camp memories in New York.
https://youtu.be/DDEdFxUZ01s

AnOrangeZebra January 24, 2021

I miss AIM! Did we ever talk on there back in the day?

Timmy™ AnOrangeZebra ⋅ January 24, 2021

I don't think we did. I forget when we started talking a lot, but AIM kind of faded for me when I met Candi, and especially when I got my first cell phone in 2008. (Candi was tired of calling the landline to see if I was there, and my mom answering. And rightfully so. Pay-as-you-go flipphone. Five bucks for limited messages. Unlimited daily calls for a dollar. Thus, I was very DON'T CALL ME unless you want to spend hours talking, ha ha.)

Oh, AIM handle was Colonel Quack. Picked it out of a large field of registered handles when I went off to college in August 2001. (Previous handle was FonzIsTheMan. Oh, and my first AIM handle? So stupid. Not even silly. "AnteaterT". Yup. Made no sense.

Tux January 24, 2021

Facebook has pretty much taken on the role of "index of people I don't talk to anymore but maybe would like the option to one day" for me. I don't think it's gonna be going anywhere...

Timmy™ Tux ⋅ January 24, 2021

Those that aren't here, are there. Of those old OD friends. As per current events, the BernieMemes are raging. I uh. Well. Consider my middle name
Darmok.

I think it works for me because the people I'm active with, I didn't meet in person. I think there's only one guy that I comment back and forth with that I met in person first.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.