Regular Thursday During Covid** in These Foolish Things

  • Jan. 21, 2021, 5:26 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Now 2 UPDATEs at the end in bold.

Good morning. Waking up to a new day, I guess…one that feels a bit like the other days due to Covid.

The vaccine situation is such a clusterfuck here and all I want to do is make sure my parents get it. Many if not most of my friends’ parents have already gotten it. My parents have signed up for as many locations as they can, but where they are is fairly remote and there’s just not enough to go around. What happened to the millions and millions of doses? I’m hoping that the Biden administration gets on this quickly. And yes, I know that it’s mostly up to the states, but the states had no leadership. I feel like this vaccine is what’s holding us back.

I’m super frustrated by a million things today and nothing seems to be running smoothing, least of which are my bodily functions.

I finally got my colonoscopy scheduled - it’s not going to happen for another TWO WEEKS. Like, huh? I asked the woman on the other end of the phone if this was really the situation? I asked her if my issues are not an emergency?? Apparently not. I suppose I would have to be gushing blood from my b-hole before they will take this seriously. Regardless, it’s scheduled.

And so is my CT scan to see what’s going on with the aneurysm behind my left eyeball. If I had to guess, I’d say it’s probably remained unchanged or (fingers crossed) gotten even smaller. I’ve had hardly any issues with headaches and weird tics (besides my eye twitches) and some scalp sensitivity (which is a HUGE thing with us carotid artery dissection survivors). I have to go off any and all blood thinning medications 5 days before the colonoscopy, so I think it will just provide me some peace of mind.

So the other stuff that bugs the shit out of me is that I’m now sharing an assistant/engineer at work who helps me with getting stuff done. He is so good at doing the heavy lifting, which I’m grateful for because somebody’s gotta move the merch, but he’s also supposed to help me with clerical stuff and he makes a MILLION mistakes on the daily. I literally have to go behind him and clean up his work before I can submit it to a customer or whatnot.

I can’t get anything major done! I’m supposed to be strategizing but here I am correcting typos and answering simple, simple, siiiimmmple questions. I can’t.

Meanwhile, I’ve heard nothing from Boss in the last day since our Zoom where he told me he was exposed to Covid. I ended up having a “conversation” with another guy who works for him who’d had a Zoom with him as well. He told me that Boss sounded like absolute shit on their call. He’s going to have a rapid test sometime today and if that thing is negative (he’s not going to call me and let me know, that’s for sure), he’s going to get on a fucking airplane.

If it’s positive, he’s going to go to a car rental place and try to make his way back here.

He is insane. And I better not see him in this office for at least a week and a half! Or I’m going to narc.

Alright. Enough with the negativity, ok? I can’t stand being this way and I’ve simply got to actively pursue some positive movement, like NOW.

I think I’m going to look at a house on Sunday. I have to make some more progress towards getting a new place as my lease will expire in April. My rent is only going up $10, but I truly think I need new scenery in my life. I have to dedicate some good, hard, positive energy to this endeavor.

And the job front is the same. I’ve reached out to the company where my friend J. just started. She tells me they are pretty unsophisticated right now, but some of my other former colleagues work there as well and I need to keep reaching back out to them to see what’s going on. J says they need a lot of help. I’m here to do just that!

I’d really like to plan some outdoor activities with friends. Trying to get Lovely to come outside with me, but she’s one of the “indoor” crowd that doesn’t seem to think anything of Covid, so that’s like pulling teeth. She’s having her annual celebration of life for her daughter (it’s been 4 years since her daughter’s accidental overdose), and as much as I want to go and be of support, I just can’t be inside with all of those peeps. I asked her if she’d make some time for me to have an outdoor lunch/dinner sometime and I haven’t heard back. I’ll send flowers in honor of her daughter and check in with her in the next couple of weeks.

So that’s life around here right now. I really need to drum up some new content.

How are things in your world?

UPDATE 1: I had to send Boss an email telling him he’d double booked his whole team in two separate Zoom meetings, so I wrote:

“I hope you’re feeling better! [Our first meeting] overlaps [our second meeting]…”

And he wrote:

“Who says I’m feeling bad? I just got a negative Covid test!”

And I wrote back:

“You had a cough on Monday.”

That fucker took an unreliable rapid test and is going to come back into the office tomorrow! I gotta find a way to make sure someone in HR somehow finds out that he’s had direct contact with someone who tested positive.

Update #2: My assistant/engineer’s wife just called him to tell him she’s tested positive. Motherfuck. I got within two feet of the dude a couple of times for about 30 seconds each time today. Wearing masks, of course. But there goes my help for the next two weeks.

Love,
GS


Last updated January 21, 2021


Complicated Disaster January 21, 2021

Your boss is a piece of work! xx

Deleted user Complicated Disaster ⋅ January 21, 2021

"Work" is too gentle a term, but I hear you.

Deleted user January 21, 2021

He really is a douchecanoe, isn't he? Sorry you're dealing with so much health stuff.

Fred January 21, 2021

What could happen if you just pick up the phone and call HR? Tell them you want their advice on how to keep yourself safe in this scenario. It’s not like you are the only one who knows anyway.

Parliament January 22, 2021

Me getting my mom her first vaccine shot (and scheduled for her second) took a lot of networking and a willingness to drop everything and go when one became available. Call your friends in healthcare, call their doctors, watch hospital web sites. It's work. But it can be done.

Ginger Snap Parliament ⋅ January 22, 2021

I have been doing that. My parents had a chance to go to a mega-site and get the vaccine on a day before it became a big clusterfuck, but they declined and I was having my own medical crisis at the moment I figured out that they could actually possibly do this and called them about it. Now that place is out of vaccines and squabbling about putting at-risk communities ahead of the elderly. I'm still working on it. I'm literally checking everything that I can just about hourly.

Jinn January 23, 2021

You need to rat your boss out. That is so irresponsible :-(

Marg January 23, 2021

Gawds sake! Could you phone HR in an anonymous kind of fashion?

plushcreep January 25, 2021

I was hoping your bold updates would be positive. Ugh...

bobbi01 January 25, 2021

God he is a tool.

Kate January 27, 2021

The viral load to infect, according to the CDC, is to be in contact with an infected person for 15 minutes over a 24 hour period. It doesn't have to be consecutive, but cumulative. You are probably in the clear.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.