One step forward, two steps back in My life....I can't make this shit up!

  • Jan. 15, 2021, 8:36 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

They finally got the breathing tube out yesterday morning. Dad called me to tell me, and I was so happy because I heard her try to stay “I’m okay.” I cried for like an hour. It was an absolute sense of relief. I wasn’t able to talk to mom because Dad kept saying all day she was still out of it, she couldn’t put two words together, couldn’t talk in complete sentences, and was getting frustrated with herself. They finally got her up and sitting in a chair yesterday evening, which made me feel good too, until he got home last night. He had this look about him and he talked a lot about her struggling with cognition and even struggling to drink her liquid dinner. We talked about that possibly being the anesthesia and that it takes a long time to wear off of seniors.
This morning Dad called me as soon as he got to the hospital again, and I could tell in his voice something was wrong. He said she is struggling to breathe, she’s taking deep breaths, and has fluid building in her right lung. They have her on a forced oxygen mask and are waiting for the Pulmonologist to see her to decide if she needs to have a procedure to drain the fluid or if she can just be given medication (Lasix). He said they still plan on having her sitting in a chair when later today.
I have to said, this is the most fucking miserable and painful experience I’ve dealt with. The most agonizing part is I cannot be there with her. I want to be in the hospital, next to her talking to her. I tried to get Dad to facetime yesterday so I could just see her and waive and tell her I’m here, but he wouldn’t do that. He said they can’t do that in the CICU because they’re fearful of showing other patients off on camera, which, I get. It doesn’t make me feel any better, but I get it.
I feel like the weight of the world is on my shoulders because I need to be strong for Cameron and Dad. I have responsibilities at work I have to worry about, and I can’t get much done because I can’t fucking focus.
I hope she starts getting better soon. I need my Mom!!!


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.