Over Here in These Foolish Things

  • Jan. 13, 2021, 10:33 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Oh hi. Don’t mind me. I’m just over here waiting for a Covid vaccine, a haircut and the United States of America to settle down.

What’s that you say? I’m going to be waiting for a while? Ughhh. It just feels like every day I get more and more isolated trying to figure out what to safely do while things burn to the ground.

I know - I’m being dramatic, but some days truly feel dramatic - while other days feel like nothing is happening at all.

Yesterday our CEO sent out a new message about Covid protocols in the office. It’s gotten worse here and there are people out sick and in quarantine so we are trying to double down on our safety. All meetings will either be held via Zoom or in open spaces within the building. No more meeting in conference rooms. I’m not mad about that. I spend a good majority of my workdays physically backing away from people who get too close. I do hate that this is life now and that we’ll all likely have PTSD about this and be afraid to get close to people, but it must be done for now.

This morning I’m at the office and about to dig into several meetings, so I thought I’d come on here and say hello while I can. I have a couple of zoom meetings with people I’m not super enthused to talk with and then this afternoon I have a networking call with a former coworker from my last job who’s looking into getting into a new industry. I’ve pointed her in a couple different directions and we decided that we should catch up ourselves.

I’ve started slowly working on my networking in order to move into something different, and this call should be good. I have another call with someone else tomorrow that the coworker above pointed to me as she’s looking for something new. I think I can point her in a pretty good direction. And then there’s my friend J. who I had that outdoor brunch with at the beginning of the year. She’s now been at her new company (where I want to go!) for a week and a half. Will check in with her and see how she’s liking it.

Lots to do!

I’m on Day 3 of the Kickstart Challenge (two week mini-challenge) and I’ve been 100% so far with workouts and step goals and eating (including no alcohol). It feels good to have goals like this, even if they are mini-goals.

But lots to do at work and Boss is out of town, so I need to get a move on. Oh. Get this. Boss is traveling to California this week - in the height of the pandemic. Our company acquired another biz that seems to be having lots and lots of disasters during the transition so he’s been traveling back and forth in November and December and still now, during the absolute height of the pandemic. I am baffled as to how he’s stayed Covid-free. Maybe he’s one of those asymptomatic people and if so, good for him. But damn. You’d think it would catch up to him after all of that movement. But I’m relieved that CEO has given us new mandates that our 1:1 meetings should be on zoom instead of in person because Boss is one of those who gets too close for my comfort and takes his mask off when I go to his office. So no more of that.

But I have lots of reports to do this morning and preliminary presentations to create, so with all of that…I’m out!

Later,
GS


Deleted user January 13, 2021

I hope things settle down soon. I've given up on a hair cut.

Invisible Me January 13, 2021

life is crazy. I decided not to get my hair cut until I get the vaccine and donate my locks to wigs for kids.

Ginger Snap Invisible Me ⋅ January 13, 2021

NICE! What a great idea!

Complicated Disaster January 13, 2021

Stay safe please lovely! Xx

Ginger Snap Complicated Disaster ⋅ January 13, 2021

Trying!

Deleted user January 13, 2021

Good luck with all the work, and keeping your head low during the wave you're having out there. Hopefully we have turned the corner on this.

The Thirsty Oriental January 13, 2021

You picked a hell of a time to not drink! 😂

Deleted user January 13, 2021 (edited January 13, 2021)

Edited

Your boss is completely reckless and irrational. You wouldn't get me on an airplane right now with a million dollars and a cattle prod.

Jinn January 14, 2021

No traveling for me. Frank did but just to retrieve my kid. Act of desperation . I would live to go anywhere but it’s not happening :-(

bobbi01 January 15, 2021

It's good that your company is taking it seriously.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.