Androgyny Redux. in Whey and Sonic Screwdrivers.

  • Jan. 11, 2021, 10:52 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The concepts of feminine and masculine should be abolished from our society, as they are potentially toxic terms, causing those gendered male to feel they need to be masculine and those gendered female that they need to be feminine. In reality, being masculine or feminine has nothing to do with gender. You can be a “masculine” leaning female. You can be a “feminine” leaning male.

I consider myself a feminine male, ever since I was a kid. Proud of my feminine side. Olde news, but there is always one in the crowd reading me for the first time. So proud of my feminine side that I felt ashamed of my masculine side, whatever “masculine” frakking means.

For me, it was wanting to be NOTHING like those bratty, obnoxious, mean boys in my classrooms that I couldn’t relate to.

Hrm. Seem to have lost my train of thought. Let’s switch tracks.

This came to mind because due to OTHER trains of thought, I was thinking about past things I wrote on Open Diary. I decided against looking up the entries where I addressed this concept. I forget whether I was so direct or not. But I decided to just come back at the concept with a fresh perspective.

See, we’re ALL on some spectrum of feminine and masculine. All of us. And it’s also fluid. Sometimes we’re a little more “feminine”, sometimes we’re a little more “masculine”. Just like gender is a bit fluid at times. You can be the girliest girl in the world, but at one point in your life, you put on your Big Girl Panties, and took on the world not just as a Woman, but as a Man. YOU DA MAN, GIRLFRIEND!

So many boxes, so many labels, so little time. And trying to drop what traits are “feminine” or “masculine” into those two boxes is a nightmare incarnate. Like. Nurturing is supposedly a feminine trait.

There’s a woman teaching her kid how to ride her bike. Is she being masculine for protecting her? There’s a man teaching his kid to her bike. Is he being nurturing for giving supportive words?

Does it fucking matter?

alt text

I don’t think so. Just be you, it doesn’t matter if you’re coded feminine or masculine.

And as 84% of statistics are made up on the spot, well. I range anywhere from 60/40 to 90/10 masculine/feminine. Hell, maybe my feminine side takes over at times, as per my “girl-persona”.

Be girly, be boyly, whatever; both are capable of making you be an asshat. And I think we can agree we don’t want you to be an asshat.

I think that covers it.

And as it seems to be my battle cry lately, especially since I referenced my girl-persona: TIMMY KAI NEVER DIES.

PS: The Village People’s “In The Navy” was playing on Pandora through part of this writing process. Frakking love that song. :: dances ::


confusedchick January 11, 2021

Saw this on the front page, agree 100%. I've been thinking a lot about this lately. Why does what gender you act matter so much? Who cares? Society is stupid. lol

Timmy™ confusedchick ⋅ January 12, 2021

<3

Be well. KEEP ON TEACHING IN THE FREE WORLD.

gattaca January 12, 2021

Me.
https://youtu.be/8Dd_qiuWxPs

PepperGrape January 12, 2021

claps

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.