In the Kitchen. in Whey and Sonic Screwdrivers.

  • Jan. 10, 2021, 5:08 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This will be addressing the paygap.

I initially thought, “Oh, this will be a quick note.” When I got out of bed, the boy-side of me was feeling, “I think I’ll get around to the dishes today.” And the girl-side of me was feeling “Yeah, boys can do the dishes, too. Any boy who refuses to do the dishes because it is ‘women’s work’ is a bad partner.”

But then I got to thinking about cooking. The stereotype of cooking being a feminine trait is stupid. Because it isn’t. And I thought of a good example of WHY. Most professional chefs are male. Nobody would ever accuse Iron Chef Bobby Flay as doing “women’s work” as an insult. But what’s the difference between Iron Chef Bobby Flay and Grandma’s Homemade Cooking?

One gets paid. One doesn’t.

There are so many examples that probably won’t come to my mind, as this is off the cuff. Consider the difference between a Doctor and a Nurse. We KNOW there is a dearth of male nurses. Sure, there are women doctors, and rightfully so. And we know how hard-working nurses are, though that’s part of the point.

A doctor gets paid more than a nurse.

There are more male CEOs than female. Yet those hard-working secretaries that hold the entire infrastructure together? Stereotyped as female. Gee, I said hard-working again. No secret CEOs get paid more than their secretaries which do more work than them.

You could argue the education factor, but you can be an uneducated, inarticulate, imbecile and rise to the head of a company. Or even become president of the united states.

(The lowercase is intentional, not a typo.)

Just a lot easier if you’re male. Privilege exists.

Well, I followed the “Rule of Three”. I think you get the point. Being feminine means being accepting less monetary compensation or none at all. Being masculine means beings “deserving” a higher wage, regardless of work ethic.

Bullshit. It’s all bullshit.

alt text

The paygap across ethnicities goes beyond the scope of this entry, though the concept is the same.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.