tough chewy foods in Weight Loss Surgery

  • Jan. 9, 2021, 12:50 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I forgot to tell you guys what my doc said about my diet going forward.

I’m still on the liquid diet until 1/18 and he encouraged me to switch right over to soft foods asap - not linger on the liquid diet.

Now me, with my kinda fucked up way of thinking, I might have wanted to drag out the liquid diet as long as possible because less food =’s weight loss.

No less food equals starvation mode and your body holding on to fat. I need to remember this.

He said the act of chewing is an appetite suppressant because it lets the body know you are eating and will help you feel full.

Where I am now on the liquid diet it’s hard to feel full - which is why you drink all day long.

He was telling me to eat soft food yet stuff that needs chewing - like steak.
I told him I’m a vegetarian so my main food is all tofu, seitan, tempeh just molded to look like meat.

Since all fake meat products are generally softer than real meat he told me to focus on veggies since they require more chewing.

I got some gummy vitamins today. The doc didn’t say my stomach couldn’t handle gummy vitamins. He just said due to the sugar it’s not the best choice. His office has a whole line of bariatric vitamins that he didn’t even push. But I did buy some anyway.

There’s some people who don’t use them and other people that say no other vitamins give patients what they need besides bariatric specific vitamins. I will have a mix of both. Bariatric and non bariatric vitamins and hopefully my hair and teeth won’t fall out due to lack of vitamins…

I don’t really know what I’m going to eat once I’m allowed soft food. I really do like egg salad but maybe I won’t use mayo. Other than that I have a couple of veestro meals still in the freezer and being that it’s all vegan, there’s nothing really “tough”. Everything is cooked well. And I could just eat those and chew them really well.

Although I’m still supposed to be getting all this protein and water in. I don’t know how I’m gonna fit in a frozen dinner. I don’t know how much “real food” I’ll be able to eat. Plus how many calories I should have. I dunno but I’ll figure it out as I go.

But I guess for all you people that have not done the surgery but are dieting - I guess eat tough food to feel fuller.

I also just got a fiber one cereal so hopefully that will help out my lower half. Plus the lax pill plus the mirelax powder.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.