Easter in just testing

  • April 21, 2014, 7:45 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

My weirdo parents decided to up and go to DC for a vacation. They only good thing about it was that I did not have to split the holiday like I usually try to do.

Shauna told me that she has nothing to do for Easter a few days ago so I invited her to Will's inlaws. She's been along with me on multiple holidays because she's always having family issues!

She's never had a good relationship with her dad because he made fun of her weight when she was young. He's said some really mean things and she said that he's been that way since she was young. Teasing her, playing tricks on her. I don't know why a father would do that. Did he think he was being funny? Did he really think teasing her would make her lose weight?

Anyway, her parents are divorced and for a while she was OK with her mom but recently her mom and dad starting living together again though they never got remarried which really betrayed Shauna.

Shauna also has a sister but her sister was going to her husband's family for Easter and last Thanksgiving the husband's sister made some rude comment about Shauna's weight and made her feel uncomfortable so she's never been back there.

Shauna's own husband's family for some reason think very low of Shauna and very highly of themselves. From the beginning, for some odd reason, they treated Shauna like she was trailer trash and thought their son could do better. They're also racist [her husband's parents] and the conversations they have around the dinner table make Shauna uncomfortable.

SOO Shauna hangs out with me some holidays.

It was a good time - we drank some but it's a Sunday and I had work Monday at 5am so I didn't want to hit it too hard. We had good food and just chatted and watched TV. Very low key but Shauna loved it cause holidays with any of her family members can be really tense.

She isn't usually at odds with EVERY family member but this Easter she was.

We didn't do any egg dyeing or anything traditional. But Will's nephew - they only kid in my immediate family - was with his father so there was no reason to do the kid stuff.

I only like hard boiled eggs once in a while and only in an egg salad sandwich so I'm not eager to hard boil 2 dozen egg and then have them stink up my fridge forever if I'm not in the mood.

My sister worked a lot this Easter - she's a pastry chef juggling 2 jobs but I think she got to eat dinner / dessert at her MIL's house at some point. I'm glad - cause those in the restaurant business have it roughest on the holidays.


lessoff April 22, 2014

that is sweet of you to invite shauna to your easter activities :)

the way you feel about making dozens of eggs for dying is how i feel about making deviled eggs. no one in robs family eats them besides me (duh), grandma's b/f and rob's mom. since we knew grandma's b/f was in the hospital i made NONE. rob and his sister thing that mayo is gross. which i think it is awesome. haha.

Crystal April 22, 2014

Aww. You're a good friend for spending Easter with Shauna. :) We didn't dye eggs this year either. My niece would have enjoyed it, but she was the only kid going to be around so...

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.