12 days post op - What am I watching?? in Weight Loss Surgery

  • Jan. 2, 2021, 4:46 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’ve been noticing how many food related shows I watch. I’m not saying all fat people watch food on TV all day but I DO.

Me and my family likes to cook, and a trillion years ago when cooking shows started to be a trending thing we were watching Everything. Even though at that time in the begining there was like NO vegetarian and vegan shows.

Then they started all these cooking competitions shows and we watched all of those too.

I love travel shows as well and a lot of food shows talk about food in different places and then it’s like expensive food vs cheap food, food vs drinks, and healthy vs unhealthy and all these different things. I watch them all.

NOW that I can’t eat much, and going forward I can’t eat a lot of the bad foods they show, I’ve been kinda turned off to food shows.

But then it’s like - what do I watch? What else is there?

And that’s what I’m discovering now.

1 I still love travel shows - I just have to focus on travel shows that aren’t mainly talking about the food you can eat there.

AND WHEN I GET TO TRAVEL AGAIN I WILL ALLOW MYSELF TO INDULGE !!!!!!! But I don’t have to watch 10 hours of it.

I also really like organizational shows. There’s a few of those around. I don’t really like hoarders, even though they do eventually clean up the house and make it nice. I rather just watch a normal amount of mess and get ideas on how to clean up clutter.

I also kinda like home buying shows but it does leave me a little bitter that I don’t have a house yet. Plus a lot of these shows are not in my area where the prices of houses are Outrageous. So to watch these people buy a 4 story house for 100,000 in indiana or someplace like that grates my nerves.

I also like shows about witches - like the new Sabrina that’s back on.

And of course ALL period piece shows or shows that show how people lived hundreds of years ago.

I kinda like weight loss shows but only if the person succeeds. I have watched a lot of the 600lbs person show but they don’t always succeed with the surgery. Sometimes they don’t get the surgery and sometimes if they do they can’t get over the mind fuckery of it all and continue to eat like shit and don’t lose the weight. Or maybe they only lose 200lbs and are ok with that and go back to eating like shit.

For them, going from 600lbs to 400lbs is a world of difference, esp. regarding their mobility but I don’t know if I would consider that a success. That would be like me only losing 50lbs and being like ok - I feel better now I can over eat again.

So that’s pretty much it so far - and that’s certainly enough TV shows to keep me entertained. I’m just slowing letting go of the food shows.

I may still watch Nailed It cause even though they are making desserts - the show isn’t focused on how things taste and most times they don’t come out looking attractive and I love that Nicole Byer.

I didn’t think this surgery would effect my TV watching habits… but what you surround yourself with Does Matter.


Ellen Ripley January 02, 2021

I love watching food shows. Good luck with your surgery!!! A good friend of mine had a roux-en-y bypass in June, and she looks incredible right now.

ninakir88 January 02, 2021

i had a dream about you and you looked really good! haha
i hope you get your house soon

sedentary ninakir88 ⋅ January 02, 2021

Wow really thanks!!

ninakir88 sedentary ⋅ January 02, 2021

Yeah I thought it was kinda odd you came to me in a dream last night haha but I thought I’d share with you anyway. I was like “dang, she is looking good”!

sedentary ninakir88 ⋅ January 02, 2021

I had a dream that I was trying to rescue a kid that was falling out a window and the mom didn't give a crap.

I rather have your dreams where I'm looking good lol!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.