10 days post op in Weight Loss Surgery

  • Dec. 31, 2020, 9:47 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Not much has changed but I’m starting to get scabby and I can’t help but to pick.

The worst one is in my belly button.

There’s some kind of clear glue that’s painted over each incision and that started getting dry and cracking and it was easy to get off. But now the actually incisions are starting to get dry and scabby and it’s tempting to pick and peel even though I KNOW I shouldn’t cause I’m afraid of infection.

I also find after a shower when they get soggy it’s easy to peel off without pain.

It’s gross but it’s part of the process.

My incisions are a little raised but not red or painful. I really think everything is normal with them. I still have the bruising basically in the place they gave me a shot in the belly. I’m surprised it’s still there but it doesn’t really hurt - it’s just still there.

It’s still not pain free to swallow unless it’s water or tea. Like when I swallow even a pureed soup it kinda hurts and I almost think that’s more the hiatal hernia they fixed because it’s not really at the belly area, it’s before.

I don’t know how wide the hernia was but I guess they made it pretty small. That may also be why I only get out tiny burps. I haven’t gotten out a rip roaring burp no matter what meds I take. And I get a lot of tiny burps when I’m eating something other than water or tea.

It’s insane how a tomato soup, which is barely thicker than water, makes such a difference when swallowing. I have to go so slowly. I’m basically dipping and licking the spoon. But that tiny amount can be felt.

I don’t think I’ll ever go back to inhaling food the way I used to. They way people eat on the go or eat in a rush. Big bites barely chewed. No matter how starving I might be in the future I don’t see it happening.

BUT plenty of people do gain and over eat with this surgery so if one was to really force themselves, they could get back there.

It’s still going to be two weeks before I’m allowed to get to the semi solid stage where I can have egg salad or a string cheese or something with some chunks to it. And the way it feels to swallow soup I can’t yet imagine how I’m gonna eat it.


ninakir88 December 31, 2020

so proud of you for going through with this surgery.. you have been such a trooper!

sedentary ninakir88 ⋅ December 31, 2020

Thank you! It's so funny your telling me your proud of me on my entry on scab picking LMAO but I appreciate it.

ninakir88 sedentary ⋅ December 31, 2020

lol, we all pick scabs, its hard not to

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.