Vindication (Not Vacation) in These Foolish Things

  • Dec. 29, 2020, 3:35 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Hi. So, I’m back at the office and have had a morning of suuuuper stressful back and forth with a factory - and it’s like one of those make or break kind of situations where the universe is screaming at me.

It all started out yesterday when Boss asked me about this situation I’m in with a project that I’m working on with a huge, huge mass retailer. Boss asked me if I’d talked with the factory about an issue that a buyer was asking about and I told him, no, that I was waiting for some information back from my factory rep.

Apparently, that wasn’t good enough for him, so he shot off a few emails directly at the rep, making it look like I wasn’t doing my job (typical reaction from Boss since there’s zero trust). It bothered me so much that he’d do that because it’s really my job to be working directly with this guy.

So I didn’t sleep at all last night because I was stewing about it allll frigging night long. I kept thinking about how the email made me look inept when I was really trying to be strategic about it all since this factory has a tendency to get frustrated with too much questioning. It was more of a situation where I was letting them do their jobs without interference and then I’d add my two cents when the time came.

I finally couldn’t take it anymore so I checked my email at 5:45 this morning to see an email addressed to Boss (and copying me) basically telling him how insulting the emails were and that he’s delivered hundreds of millions of $$$ worth of product to this retailer and that Boss is holding this project up with all of the “worrying” and interfering that he’s doing.

And I felt this weird sense of relief and vindication that made me mad at myself that I let it get to me so much.

Anyway. I’m tired because I didn’t sleep and I’m grumpy because this is just dumb.

But I have a lot of other stuff to do, so I’m gonna make this kinda short.

I have nothing really to report anyway. I’ve been keeping myself occupied by cruising social media (ugh!), bingeing on some of the latest TV (Netfilx’s Bridgerton a little bit..had been into watching Christmas movies but I’m over it now and moving on), taking down my Christmas decorations (weird that literally NO ONE came over to my apartment and saw these in person but me), learning how to digital plan on ipad (this is super fun, thank you for the tip, Tinkle). Oh! And learning how to air fry things in my new air fryer I got for Christmas.

Never heard word back from Elixir Man, nor am I sad about it. But I’m just so meh about everything right now it bums me out. I just feel so blah.

Yes, I’m looking forward to 2021, but…January and February are likely going to be brutal with the weather and the Covid still raging. Maybe by March there will be more available vaccines. One can only hope.

OK, better go. Lots to do.
Until next time.
Love,
GS


Complicated Disaster December 29, 2020

HA! Hopefully Boss will realise that you do actually know what you are doing! xx

Athena December 29, 2020

I just saw that it will be end of Jan or early Feb before the Phase1B group (https://dshs.texas.gov/coronavirus/immunize/vaccine/) will get the vaccine. Have you heard anything about getting it early through work? Are we going to have to wait to group 3?

Soliloquy December 29, 2020

Seeing that email must have felt amazing! Love when the douchebags get what they deserve.

The Thirsty Oriental December 29, 2020

I’m glad you were relieved!

pandora December 30, 2020

YES! I'm so glad that the rep spoke up and cc'ed you! I wonder will your boss mention it?

bobbi01 December 30, 2020

Your boss is the master at jeopardizing working relationships. Its amazing how people like that manage to not only get those roles but retain them as well!

Firebabe December 30, 2020

Ah, I refer to those kinds of supervisors as "Poop and Swoop." Because they swoop in where they're not needed, crap all over everything, and then swoop back out, leaving you to clean up the mess. Pretty infuriating!

plushcreep January 01, 2021

I was going to leave a comment similar to Firebabe's, but I can't top "poop and swoop" so I'll just say I second everything she said.

Marg January 10, 2021

Glad your boss got that ticking off. What a shame the e-mail didn’t come through at midnight though then you might have got some decent sleep!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.