5 days post op - 269 - 5lbs lost in Weight Loss Surgery

Revised: 12/26/2020 3:35 p.m.

  • Dec. 26, 2020, 6:13 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m trying to get back to normal - cause my first day back in the office is Tuesday.

OMG the amount of phlegm being released from my body is unbelievable. If I’m not coughing it up I’m blowing my nose. It seems never ending.

I am so tired - like my body is physically tired, not my mind.

I attempted the litter box yesterday. I know with my stomach I shouldn’t but I’d have to lose both arms for Will to do it and I can smell it. He either doesn’t smell it or acts like he doesn’t but I do.

I have 4 and usually it’s no problem to do 4 but I swear it took me like half an hour to do one.

And today I attempted laundry. So I took one bag - not over stuffed - down the hall to the laundry room. I walk all slow and shuffled like an old man and I am completely out of breath while doing it. And when I finally get back home to sit down I’m dizzy.

You know what else makes me dizzy - a fucking shower. I think I’ve had 2 so i guess showering every other day is enough but you forget how often you spin around in a shower. The front the back your hair who knows what else. I’m not even gonna bend over and shave - those days are over for a while.

It’s just weird to feel so old. Yesterday when I was struggling to rip wrapping paper I felt like such a grandma.

Still I told Will I’m gonna attempt to drive and feed my ferals. A friend has been doing it since Tuesday and while yes I desperately needed the help she feeds many colonies and is very busy and I need to start getting back to normal, albeit slowly.

But come Monday afternoon it will be a full week post op. And I’m ready to get back to normal as much as possible.

I meant to tell you guys the meds I’m on.

The oxy we all know and love is gone.

Pantoprazole is the acid reflux / gas meds I have to take once a day no matter what - docs orders. And I do.

Ondansetron is for nausea. It says up to 4 a day but I was basically popping them like candy anytime I felt the least bit sick. I kinda still do. It’s there, why not take it. It’s gone way down yesterday and today but the first 4 days they were my life savers.

Lastly is the Docusate laxative that I only started yesterday. Maybe I’ll take it every other day - I dunno. Will seems to think it’s really important I take it but I’m worried about cramping or diarrhea if I over do it. I really don’t have a lot to come out so I don’t want to over medicate.

Other than that I’ve also been drinking infant Mylicon and popping Brioschis for gas relief.

So today my day will consist of falling alseep in front of the TV and popping pills. I’ve done one load of laundry and I’ll maybe attempt litterbox #2.

I used to think I had no energy BEFORE surgery - I dunno how I’m gonna get through a day of work now. It’s worrisome but I’ll get through it.

Sipping on a 40 gram protein shake right now. Not the best tasting - I got a variety - but I need the protein.

I really like Fairlife and 2nd fave is premier protein. This one is Body Fortress and it’s kinda chalky.

-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=–==-=-=-=-=–=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-==-

I’ve had 2 protein shakes and half a cup of ricotta. 80 grams of protein in over 10 hours. I might have some plain tea in the evening cause i’ve only had 24oz of liquid. i took a nap and prob will sleep early.

my new cell was delivered early and will hopefully be set up tonight. I’m going to attempt to drive and feed my colony tomorrow. I have my 1 week check up with the doc Monday. I hope everything is ok to him.

I just want to mention I think I joined this job I’m now in at about 285. I’ve gained and lost but never been in the 260s. They al lknow I had surgery . so they may see a difference sooner rather than later.


Last updated December 26, 2020


lessoff December 26, 2020

Tell will to do the litter boxes.

ninakir88 December 26, 2020

Take it easy and don’t exhaust yourself too much. The more rest you get now the quicker your recovery will be.

Honestleigh December 26, 2020

I promise you, the energy you will feel is amazing! It took a while for me to get there, but I did. The gas will go away after a weekish or so, maybe two. The first fews days I was like, did I do the right thing?!?? lol I tried this protein water that was helpful (https://drinkprotein2o.com/) I like the grape flavor. Also, weirdly found that water gives me heart burn lol And, at first I could only drink hot water. WTF. LOL

I had surgery in March 2019. I'm down 125 pounds but still fat! Ugh. (I'm 333 at the moment). I notice that the more carbs I eat, the more GERD I have. I try to make sure I don't eat within 2 hours of going to bed / lying down or it's a yucky situation. :( I have been dabbling with Keto in the last month or so. I'm about to begin a 21 day Keto reset. :) Good luck on your journey.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.