I Love Lucy. in Whey and Sonic Screwdrivers.

  • Dec. 18, 2020, 9:13 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

So anyway, I have a belief that if you spend enough money on something, you get to name it. This is why moms get to name their kids.

Eh, screw the elaborate backstory. My first personal rig was Lisa Electron. Followed by Roxanne Covalent. And then Kelly Quark. She lasted a long time. I tried rebuilding her, but failed.

Sigh.

I’ve been intarwebbing off of Ruby Red in the mean time. She’s basically the USS Stargazer of laptops. I got her back in 2012 to do academic stuff on. With the hope I wouldn’t play games. (Can play Everquest2 with minimal settings, ha ha.) Overworked, underpowered. And oh boy, has she earned my respect. Not a single crash. Not one. She’s the little laptop that could.

So last night I decided to take a page out of Wifenado’s book and did something impulsive. I went to newegg.com and fucking bought a new laptop. A laptop! Not a tower. A fucking laptop.

In the words of Hawk (Cobra Kai), flip the script.

I’m excited!

I still have my desk available to put her on. I’ve been utilizing Ruby, well. It’s kind of in front of the TV. I don’t like that. Lucy will be on the desk. Complete with my olde speakers, or just headphones.

Oh, and that will be her name. Lucy Laptop. And I’ll say it for you, “TIMMY, YOU GOT A LOT OF ‘SPLAINING TO DO!!”


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.