direction in --

  • Dec. 10, 2020, 10:55 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

A couple of weeks ago I gave up on a dream.

My therapist led me to a realization today (as she usually does): not doing your dream is not about a lack of capability or focus. Some things are just about re-allocating your energy and getting pieces of yourself back.

I was babbling on about working and how this year I seem to have shifted my focus from working as much as I can, to freeing up as much of my time as I can. I didn’t used to value free time the way I do now, and I wanted to fill every ounce of time that I could with work or something else that I deemed productive. My medical school dream was the perfect escape. I threw myself into work, school, volunteering, research projects, and studying. I made sure I had time for nothing else other than the children.

I pondered if this was because I was so unhappy in my marriage and now that I’m single, the fog has lifted. Being a doctor is my dream job; I’ve never been so sure of anything in my life, and I know I’d be an amazing doctor and I’d love it. But I’m finding that my dream job just isn’t worth the grind anymore. I’m constantly worn to the bone. I make sure to stop working at 4:00 PM everyday unless absolutely necessary. I do nothing on the weekends. I am sick of starting over and having to prove myself. I’m exhausted. I am almost 31. Another year gone where I didn’t get to live my life beyond working towards a goal that feels like it’s squeezing every drop of life out of me.

This year I have gone to parks I normally wouldn’t go to. I went running. I did art. I played video games. I finished books. I spent time with my children. I was obsessed with my microbiology class and got an A. Sometimes I love every minute of things. I love medicine and I am passionate about change and research. But I can find ways of making what little impact I can have on the world, in some other way.

I know one thing for sure: I don’t want to work my life away, only to find myself alone, undervalued, and without an identity outside of the people I work to serve.

I’m another cog in the machine. I bring value to my team at work, but I am still not thought of that way. I wish I knew why in so many aspects of my life I never really felt valued. I built our division of the department to where it is now. My coworker gets the credit. She gets praised. I get talked-over and talked-down to by her in meetings when I have ideas. I have only been in my role for one year, but I am knowledgeable about a lot of different things and people often come to me when they have questions or need clarity. I know what I’m doing most of the time. But they still don’t think that I do. I listen to them in meetings using organizational theory buzzwords. I’ve had conversations with them about everything I do, and ways we could structure role division for more efficiency. Alas, it’s futile.
I work with wonderful people who value me; unfortunately, I don’t directly work with them and I never will.

My therapist mentioned that I’m very soft-spoken and I’m nice, but not friendly. It’s true, I’m a quiet person who is usually very straightfoward in a work context. It’s unfortunate that I’m generally perceived as passive. I’m really not a passive person. I am a passionate person. I’m not a half-way kind of gal. I give everything 100%, no matter what it is. Sometimes people don’t see that. It’s unfortunate, but I don’t know how to be any other way than who I am. I don’t really want to try to be either. I’m tired.

I’ve accepted that despite valuing myself, sometimes other people won’t.
It’s gonna be fine.

I don’t know what I’ll do with my life now.


Last updated December 10, 2020


JustSurviveSomehow December 11, 2020

I've come to a similar realization myself lately. Always trying to fill every last minute of the day with something productive to do. Realizing that it's not healthy, but not sure what I have outside of that. It is a very strange predicament to be in, that's for sure. We will find our callings.

Small Town Girl December 13, 2020

How frustrating that they do not clearly see your knowledge and value! Their loss for sure!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.