Go the Distance. in Whey and Sonic Screwdrivers.

  • Dec. 8, 2020, 2:40 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I feel like maybe I didn’t read enough in my Open Diary days. There is so much unrest now. So much sadness when I scout to see how other writers are doing. It makes me wonder if it was there all along.

We know 2020 is a strange year.

In years past, I would read humans casually mention their misery. There seemed to be an upbeat spirit to it. As if to mask it.

Not so much now.

It feels… There are zero shits left to give, so let it all out. Guess that is what happens when the end of the world feels imminent.

Yet, for the vast majority of us, it isn’t resignation. It isn’t a lack of hope. Whether it is an American, or a Canadian, or an Australian, or the Mars Rover, it is a sense of gritting our teeth and getting through this. Of acknowledging everything we are going through and saying,

“I WILL GET THROUGH THIS.”

Must be the Trekkie in me, but Guinan once said:

“With experience. When the Borg destroyed my world, my people were scattered throughout the universe. We survived - as will humanity survive. As long as there’s a handful of you to keep the spirit alive, you will prevail - even if it takes a millennium.”

We will survive. We can go the distance.


Wrennie December 08, 2020

:)

Deleted user December 08, 2020

I really like this, thank you. We WILL survive.

AnOrangeZebra December 09, 2020

<3

cricket_factor December 13, 2020

We must keep going.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.