Christmas in Bittersweet

  • Dec. 5, 2020, 4:46 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

We decorated for Christmas today. We put up the tree. I decided last week on all red and white. So we have red and white and silver ornaments. red and white ribbon for garland and white Icicle that are tantalizing the cats. I couldent find a tree skirt. So i bought a red piece of fleece and cut it into a skirt to cover the bottom. We also put lights up on the house. Colored icicles haha. They are LED so they POP! We then used the rest to do the trees out front. My mom had given us this teeter totter light up, santa and a reindeer and two tiny white deer. So we just put them up and staked them down. haha. We staked EVERYTHING down!! It gets SO windy. So Now that is done. I want to get a wreath too. But certain events may lead us to nothing. Sigh.
December is shaping up to be fun.

I drew 4 paintings and did the backgrounds on each. Im doing a christmas village across 3 8 x 10s. Its a toy shoppe, a church and a house. Each with a path and a tree. I think i may add a bit more to them. Then a father christmas with a sack full of animals. Ive never done animals, well the own owl that kidna sucked and a cat which is easy. This has two bears a wolf , owl rabbit and a ferrit. Yes im drawing it off an image haha. Its a beautiful christmas card i bought. I think its FAR beyond my level of painting skills. But im going to try. If i fail… I loose one 20 inch canvas. If its great, Its awesome. I alraedy changed the background which was a dark blue to light blue ombre to a black to navy ombre. I think it will make the santa in blue pop more. Or i may change him to be in forest green and brown fur. Im not sure yet. The whole original image is rather mono toned in shades of blues.

Goddammnit. Apollo kitten wont get out of the tree. And i dont mean playing with the ornaments. I mean i just yanked him OUT of the tree, 2 feet up! If i catch him in there in the night. Im throwing him and his litter box into my bathroom. Only room big enough to contain him. I dont want him to topple my tree!!

Ok well its bed time and my 20 minutes of peace are up haha. Ill leave you with my photos.
alt text

My one bulb on the tree changes color slowly. So it kinda pops. For all its red and white, i use colored lights :D And a lot of my ornaments are animals out of natural items. Like pinecone owls and straw squirrels.
alt text

I also threw my baby yoda and my stink stnak stunk mask hand painted ornaments on the tree :) Ive got a dozen bases i may paint them other things seeing i have them.

Night!


Jinn December 07, 2020

Your tree looks wonderful. I have not tried to put ours up yet. Too much stuff going on :-(

ChainedChrysalis Jinn ⋅ December 07, 2020

I understand that one.

Jinn December 07, 2020

I wish I was artistic but I am not :-) I can crochet blankets and that is about it :-)

ChainedChrysalis Jinn ⋅ December 07, 2020

Have you ever considered trying some of the online paint nights? I can send you some links to super simple ones.

Jinn ChainedChrysalis ⋅ December 08, 2020

No, I have not tried them. I need supplies I imagine. I would be glad to have the links. Thanks!

ChainedChrysalis Jinn ⋅ December 08, 2020

ok so you can get started for under 15 bucks at walmart! You can get a canvas for cheap and this ladys painting does very few colors. So a buck a color and you can do ANY colors you want. Anyway ive done a bunch of her painting tutorials. Some of them have tracers you can trace onto canvas's too. Or you can free hand. I ordered a few sheets of transfer paper off amazon for 5 dollars. and i got a 10 pack of canvases for like 10 bucks at walmart. AND sams club has a BIG paint pack of paint with like 20 colors for 15 dollars. A couple brushes and you are set :D I can say that having a cup of water and paper towels makes a huge difference! haha.

Jinn ChainedChrysalis ⋅ December 09, 2020

Sounds good !

ChainedChrysalis Jinn ⋅ December 09, 2020

omg derp i next posted the link, im sorry!

https://stepbysteppainting.net/

Jinn ChainedChrysalis ⋅ December 09, 2020

:-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.