two good days haha in Bittersweet

  • Nov. 28, 2020, 10:25 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

well my drawer was spot on the last two days. Im using hand sanitizer whenever i get cash so i can count back without worrying aboout sticking bills or anything. That stuff really catches!
Black friday was steady but not hellish thankfully. Today was slow with trickles of people. Two or three times we had a few people waiting. So it was good.
Man the anxiety spikes big time when they count my drawer. But being told my count is spot on is nice. Especially seeing at one point it WAS off. I handed the wrong change back and corrected it.

Its kinda fun, the different people coming in and out. I get a lot of people asking my name. Like they want to remember me. Today i was quieter although i had a few joksters. Which make the day go. Like one man, came up with a keep out sign, two boxes of ammo, a shovel, pick axe and wire. I said ahh we plinking off and burying trespassers? he stared at me, Then laughed so hard. The other day some man came in with these 10 foot fence posts that are pre narrowed at one end to sink in the ground. He told me he needed 10 of the 10 ft, and 10 of the 5 ft. I said how is the punji pit going. He said god gal its not Nam! I mean its those kind of jokes and fun that we can have working in this kind of store that make it worth wile. I get some doomsday preppers. I had a man come in today get really mad at me that we ask you to sign saying you acknowlage you cannot return ammo at our store. No ammo can be returned. So we tell you, then ask you to sign. Most people just draw a dash or a line or whatever. This man was quite mad! Both he and his wife bought ammo ( fine.) You can only buy 2 boxes per day per PERSON. So they combined could do 4 in 2 transactions.But he legit THOUGHT we were tracking his ammo purchases by asking him to sign. It dosent enter our system, It prints it on your receipt like when you sign a credit card. But he was really mad, like REALLY nearly get your manager and hide mad. The managers 100% back the staff at this store. They love their customers, but their employees matter more. They bought each shift ( 3) 6 pizzas yesterday, and had a basket of 20 oz sodas for all black friday workers. They bring in cookies, cakes, muffins, desserts and snacks ALL the time. There is always licorice and candy in the break room. I did an oopsie and the managers backed me up. They really care. They took the time to comfort me when i was crying about messing up my till. They want you to be comfortable and happy. The employees are mostly friendly and outgoing. I get ex employees in every day telling me its a great place to work. Im enjoying it. Ive been feeling kinda “small” the last few days. Blame that time of the month or the till being off or whatever. But ive been quiet and a bit more withdrawn. Next week ill be better. I think as the anxiety calms down. But they made a point that im not going to keep making the same mistakes.

Im not sure if im the go getter they say i am, or if they WANT me to me haha. Im an unhealthy brain mess lol! But hey, if i do the job right? Or whatever lol.

We picked up some ornaments and ribbon in place of garland. So my next day off we will put up the tree and do some house lights. I work till Monday so far. So no telling. Maybe Manager D will be in and can do our schedules tomorrow lol. Manager M is off, so D is probably on.

T got a bonus on his self employment, an extra 1500 this month. Plus my paycheck has us sitting quite nice for the first time in a long time. I mean its 1900 more then we are used to ( first paycheck is always really wimpy) so i bought the kids some clothes, got some xmas gifts ( i got them a movie projector for their room that can operate on batteries so we can play movies ON the house outside in summer! How fun will that be! :D Im trying to think of some other fun things. I hate christmas shopping because they never want toys. But they want stuff. Like they are aging out of toys haha. Sigh. Ill figure it out.

Ok i better go. Its taking forever to write stuff and ive lost a bunch of stuff in my photoshop. So im getting irritated. Of course i canceled the subscription so i cant go RE DOWNLOAD them without paying 70 bucks. Noooo. so joys.
later.


Small Town Girl November 29, 2020

Do you work at a chain store? Or is it just a Colorado or Chain of stores out west? Curious cuz I want a new job and yours sounds awesome!

ChainedChrysalis Small Town Girl ⋅ November 29, 2020

Its called Big R. Its in colorado, new mexico and like one or two in texas i think haha. Its a south west store. Its locally owned to me. About 60 miles from the first home store and we have 30 or so stores.

Small Town Girl ChainedChrysalis ⋅ November 29, 2020

Figures! Sounded too good to be true for MN!

ChainedChrysalis Small Town Girl ⋅ November 29, 2020

im not sure all stores are as fun as mine haha. But i enjoy the co workers and the people in my area. Lots of country cowboys haha.

Small Town Girl ChainedChrysalis ⋅ November 29, 2020

Oh man! I love cowboys! Real men!

ChainedChrysalis Small Town Girl ⋅ November 29, 2020

and lots of yes ma'am no ma'am haha. Its so weird!

Jinn November 30, 2020

We have Big R. Here but I rarely go in it . I knew you would get that drawer thing right :-)

ChainedChrysalis Jinn ⋅ November 30, 2020

You should! Its pretty fun haha!! Like the housewares stuff is so fun.
im 4/4 on on target drawers now haha.

Jinn ChainedChrysalis ⋅ December 01, 2020

I should check it out .

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.