Mood Poisoning in Current Events

  • Nov. 24, 2020, 5:42 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I just got off the phone with my doctor. Well, he wasn’t my doctor so it was quite the trip him reading my doctor’s notes back to me. I’m painted out to be some stressed out alcoholic who needs a shaman. I made him correct those notes, I do not have a drinking problem. wtf? Anyway, I wish I was able to just be seen there. I’ll call back tomorrow and try and be a Karen about it. He’s e-mailed me a requisition for some bloodwork and I’ll be sent a letter from a hospital with an appointment to get an ultrasound on my throat. When he drafted up the requisition for bloodwork he acted like I was suffering from veganism. Then he gave me an attitude about not getting a flu shot. I’m only a boomer in gay years buddy. It would probably save a lot of time if he could just grab my throat and tell me if my thyroid is a problem. It could be something else that is obvious to him. Maybe it’s my tonsils? I’m thin so my thyroid could just be prominent because of that he said. It’s going to be months before I get in for that ultrasound. If I get diagnosed with cancer it will be almost a year before I start treatment because that’s free healthcare in Canada. You pay into it hoping it will be there for you right when you need it but then there is a really really long queue and fax machines. We’re still using fax machines. I’m not over that we’re in the middle of a “pandemic” and still using fax machines. We’re getting our tax dollars worth right there. Can we normalize slapping people who believe that healthcare is free?

I woke up in a bad mood today. I feel like I’m understanding but not understood. That was a weird feeling to wake up to. Cable news created a cult. People think the news is gospel and I can’t get them to see the light. My city is probably going to drop down to two grocery stores soon and two gas pumps and a 7 pm bedtime because science. Everybody wants to argue about masks and ignore the real science problems. The PCR. The Portuguese court has brain cells apparently. They ruled that the PCR tests are unreliable and so it is unlawful to quarantine people. If that made it to the cult of news worshippers over here I wonder how they would react. No that’s fake news and you’re a heretic so I must insult you now and we just need to wear our super masks and everything will be okay. Yeah, everything is only because not everyone is wearing their super masks. We’re saving the world with these lockdowns and super masks. I’m the good guy in this made-up hero story. All hail the news and wear your super masks. There is nothing more to know beyond the cable news, stop being ignorant about that you conspiracy theorist just wear the damn mask and it will all be over soon and we’ll all be in poverty together soon enough and we can just blame the people who didn’t wear super masks and not our ignorance and honest politicians. That evangelist friend of mine is a microbiologist and I forgot about that. We only talk online. He casually mentioned in one of my posts how magical this COVID isn’t. It doesn’t magically spread differently than other coronaviruses. I have so many questions for him next time we talk.


Last updated November 24, 2020


Chaz November 24, 2020

How come I always hear some much conflicting information about the healthcare in Canada? Some Canadians say it’s great and others say how bad it is and how long you have to wait for everything.

Small Town Girl Chaz ⋅ November 25, 2020 (edited November 25, 2020)

Edited

I live in Minnesota and we get MANY Canadians here seeking health care. Swedish people too. They come to the US cuz you can actually easily get in to see doctors.

DE_KentuckyGirl November 24, 2020

Just had a comment, I assume meant to be insulting, from a European on one of my (her?) entries about how they don't have flu tests done unless you're hospitalized, that they stay away from the doctor when they have flu symptoms because it's contagious and viral so they can't do anything anyway, so guess which one of our heaktcare systems is free and the other for profit? Insinuation was, our docs see us for flu because $$$$. While perhaps somewhat true, I always viewed it as ruling out other bacterial respiratory illnesses, which will require antibiotics, since nearly all respiratory viruses have very similar symptoms. Why do I wanna end up in the hospital before I find that out?

My point is, "free" Healthcare isn't free, obviously. She is paying for it in some way. And also, I've talked to multiple Canadians and Europeans both over the years who lament the very long wait times and an overwhelmed system. Kinda like Medicaid for all. No thank you.

TL DE_KentuckyGirl ⋅ November 25, 2020

Capitalism is the new great new experiment, the for-profit is what drives America's healthcare to be so superior. That competition. here will always be room for improvement. My country was never going to develop a vaccine, we don't have that competition up here. We are last in line to get it.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.