OMG Tell Me Your Secrets!!! in On The Topic Of nothing:

  • Nov. 23, 2020, 2:17 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’ve been diving in to the ol prosebox today and it seems like a lot of people have a lot of problems on their mind. Personally I love to write, I use to keep a hand written journal of all the experiences that I’ve had in my life. Good things, bad things, weird things. I included everything it was like an unscripted episode of jerry springer. As a matter of fact my journal cost me at the very least two of my relationships because they were that unadulterated.

I’ve noticed lately that I only write when things seem depressing and I’d love to change that again! I’ve been working on some short stories and I have a science fiction novel that I work on occasionally but I wish I could sit down and pound out a couple thousand words a day! I’ve got a real problem of turning whatever my first project of the day is into the theme for that day and I can’t seem to do anything else.

How do you guys do it? How do you sit down and get your journal entries flowing every day!? I need to know your secrets of the written word!

On to current events! Life is grand, seasonal depression has given up it’s hold this week! and who knows maybe it’ll never rear it’s ugly head again! Hope everyone is haven’t a good day like mine!


One Angry Dwarf November 23, 2020

For me, I think writing got tied to a specific time of day/activity--i usually wrote during what would normally be the lunch hour, but I rarely took a lunch in the office. Then once the habit formed, it felt weird not to write.

Quarantine changed that, and I now struggle to even remember to write. But it worked for like, 8 years! If you want to write, maybe there is something you do every day that you can associate it with. My association developed naturally, but I've been trying to use the same psychological mechanism to form intentional habits too, and it's been going pretty well!

DE_KentuckyGirl November 24, 2020

My writings are definitely more interesting when I am struggling with shit. Anymore, just of it is just chronicles of daily life. Boring. But I like peace, and am okay with that!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.