NoJoMo2020 #20 in Surveys

  • Nov. 20, 2020, 5:35 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

20 - What’s your favorite quote?

I actually have a ton on my Facebook about-me section that I’ve just written down haha so I’ll share them all - although I haven’t updated it in years…
Out of all of these, my favourite one is probably the one from Ben10 LOL.

“You’re meant to lose people in life. How else are you supposed to know how important they are to you?” - The Curious Case Of Benjamin Button

“Be nice to straights - remember, it takes two of them to make one of you” - Boy George

“The true test of character is not how much we know how to do, but how we behave when we don’t know what to do.” -John Holt

“With so much hate in this world, I’m not really interested in people who say love is wrong” - Anne Heche

“You always have to remember - no matter what you’re told - that God loves all the flowers, even the wild ones that grow on the side of the highway” - Cyndi Lauper

“People often say that ‘beauty is in the eye of the beholder,’ and I say that the most liberating thing about beauty is realizing that you are the beholder. This empowers us to find beauty in places where others have not dared to look, including inside ourselves.”
- Salma Hayek

“Your love was wonderful to me, surpassing the love of women.” - David to Jonathan (2 Samuel 1.26)

“The Bible contains six admonishments to homosexuals and 362 admonishments to heterosexuals. That doesn’t mean that God doesn’t love heterosexuals. It’s just that they need more supervision.” Lynn Lavner

“People sacrifice their time for money. It’s like they take out a mortgage on their own lives.” - anon.

”…but I can’t help it if I have a heavy flow and a wide-set vagina!” - Mean Girls

“My mother warned me about women and alcohol, but not about boys and drugs..” - anon.

“When you take a stand for anything, you risk it. I wouldn’t change a thing.” - Ellen DeGeneres

“Dreams have as much influence as actions” - Stephanie Mallarme’

“The day we stop resisting our instincts, we’ll have learned how to live.” - Federico Garcia Lorca

“No more muffins for you! The muffin shop is CLOSED!” - Saved

“If there were no gays, what would be on TV?” - Rick & Steve

“Nobody is perfect. Well… there was one guy, but then we killed him.” - Anon.

“You will know that forgiveness has begun when you recall those who hurt you and feel the power to wish them well.” - Lewis B. Smedes

“There’s plenty of time to sleep when you’re pushing up daisies.” - Unknown

“We know that the adolescent is spontaneously homosexual” - Dadeus Grings (Brazilian Archbishop)

“The best way to prepare for life is to begin to live.”
Elbert Hubbard

“The talent of success is nothing more than doing what you can do, well.”
Henry W. Longfellow

“Try not to become a person of success but a person of value.”
Albert Einstein

“People with many interests live, not only longest, but happiest.”
George Matthew Allen

“When I want to read a novel, I write one.”
Benjamin Disraeli

“Every second you’re met with a decision that can change your life”

“My mother says lovers are like buses - you just have to wait a while and another one comes along” - A Single Man

“Happiness is three things: Having someone to love, having something to do and having something to look forward to” - Radio announcer on Christian radio.

“We have to laugh because it’s an affirmative of hope.” - Margaret Cho

“Homosexuality is a sin. Homosexuals are doomed to spend eternity in hell. If they wanted to change, they could be healed of their evil ways. If they would turn away from temptation, they could be normal again if only they would try and try harder if it doesn’t work. These are all the things I said to my son Bobby when I found out he was gay. When he told me he was homosexual my world fell apart. I did everything I could to cure him of his sickness. Eight months ago my son jumped off a bridge and killed himself. I deeply regret my lack of knowledge about gay and lesbian people. I see that everything I was taught and told was bigotry and de-humanizing slander. If I had investigated beyond what I was told, if I had just listened to my son when he poured his heart out to me I would not be standing here today with you filled with regret. I believe that God was pleased with Bobby’s kind and loving spirit. In God’s eyes kindness and love are what it’s all about. I didn’t know that each time I echoed eternal damnation for gay people each time I referred to Bobby as sick and perverted and a danger to our children. His self esteem and sense of worth were being destroyed. And finally his spirit broke beyond repair. It was not God’s will that Bobby climbed over the side of a freeway overpass and jumped directly into the path of an eighteen-wheel truck which killed him instantly. Bobby’s death was the direct result of his parent’s ignorance and fear of the word gay. He wanted to be a writer. His hopes and dreams should not have been taken from him but they were. There are children, like Bobby, sitting in your congregations. Unknown to you they will be listening as you echo “amen” and that will soon silence their prayers. Their prayers to God for understanding and acceptance and for your love but your hatred and fear and ignorance of the word gay, will silence those prayers. So, before you echo “amen” in your home and place of worship. Think. Think and remember a child is listening.” - Mary Griffith, “Prayers For Bobby”

“I know now why God didn’t heal Bobby. He didn’t heal him because there was nothing wrong with him.” - Mary Griffith, “Prayers For Bobby”

“To let true love remain unspoken is the quickest route to a heavy heart.” - Peace “Sky High”

“”I have the mouth of an angel. And the arse of one too.... Of course size counts. I want to be fucked, not annoyed.” - My friend James.

“Don’t be so busy making a living that you don’t leave time to make a life.” - photo on wall

“Never judge a country by its government.” - quote from some travel show

“That’s right man, Livin’ it up, not givin’ a fuck.” - A teenage male customer at work riding a bright pink bicycle

“Jesus Foxxy! You’re such a whore! You’ve had more infected wangs in you than a Shanghai hospital!” - Toot - “Drawn Together”

“Like a tampon, once I had a taste of blood… I wanted more” Captain Hero - “Drawn Together”

“To alcohol - the cause of, and solution to all of life’s problems” - Homer Simpson

“I’m selfish, impatient and a little insecure. I make mistakes, I am out of control and at times hard to handle. But if you can’t handle me at my worst, then you sure as hell don’t deserve me at my best.” - Marilyn Monroe

“When love goes wrong, nothing goes right.” - Marilyn Monroe

“When a man talks dirty to a woman, it’s sexual harassment. When a woman talks dirty to a man, it’s $5.95 a minute.” - Kelly Osbourne

“Doesn’t Palin have anything better to do than talk about me? I mean, shouldn’t she be out shooting moose from a helicopter or something?”
–Barack Obama

“The only way to keep your health is to eat what you don’t want, drink what you don’t like, and do what you’d rather not.” - Mark Twain

“Son, if you really want something in this life, you have to work for it. Now quiet! They’re about to announce the lottery numbers.” - Homer Simpson

” The greatest pleasure in life is doing what people say you cannot do.” - anon.

“I am not a vegetarian because I love animals; I am a vegetarian because I hate plants!” A. Whitney Brown

” I have opinions of my own – strong opinions – but I don’t always agree with them.” - George Bush

“Never do anything that you wouldn’t want to explain to the paramedics.” Anon.

“People who want to share their religious views with you almost never want you to share yours with them.” ~Dave Barry

“”One of the great things about books is sometimes there are some fantastic pictures.” -George W. Bush

“I can see Alaska from my house!” - Sarah Palin

“Insurance is like marriage. You pay, pay, pay, and you never get anything back.” - Al Bundy

“You have enemies? Good! That means you stood up for something” - Eminem

“You only get out what you put in.” - Nutri-Grain slogan.

“”Heterosexuals beat you down this way because they won’t give you marriage so you can be like heterosexuals.”” Remember when Pride meant that we were proud to be different? Now change and equality mean that we have to become like everybody else instead of retaining the things that made us great.” - a blogger friend.

“If a fat person disgusts you, if you’re afraid of black people, if you’re grossed out by gays kissing, know this: Your intolerance says way more about you than about those who repel you.” - Dodai, author.

“I don’t think you’ve got what he’s lookin for, darlin’” - old guy to girl eyeing off a gay guy on the train

“A smile is the shortest distance between two people.” Victor Borge (1909 - 2000)

Woman noticing young boy playing with mobile phone: “I hope you’re not taking naughty pictures with that young man.”
Young boy: “Don’t flatter yourself ma’am.”

“What’s the point of living if you don’t wanna dance?” - Kylie Minogue

“You can’t sail the 7 seas if you’re clinging to shore.” - Unknown

“LOL has gone from meaning, “laugh out loud” to “I have nothing else to say”.”

”- I have a hard time deciphering the fine line between boredom and hunger.” - Random thoughts from people 25-35

“Bad decisions make good stories.”

“The way to my heart really is through my vagina.” - my friend Erin

“Can we all just agree to ignore whatever comes after DVDs? I don’t want to have to restart my collection.”

“Why is a school zone 25 km/h? That seems like the optimal cruising speed for paedophiles…”

”- While driving yesterday I saw a banana peel in the road and instinctively swerved to avoid it…thanks Mario Kart.”

“When you change the way you look at things, the things you look at change.” - Courtney Act

“Men are born between a woman’s legs, and spend the rest of their life tryna get back in between them.”

“Sometimes it’s great to piss rather than get pissed on” - Ray- “Hung”

“Sometimes in life, it’s great to forget all the problems and just fuck for a while” - Mrs Koontz, “Hung”

“Don’t love someone just because they are beautiful, love someone because they make your life beautiful.” ~ Unknown (thanks to Jazz D. Du Bois)

“You only live once, so do everything twice!”

“I’m standing on the shoulders of giants” - QLD Premier, Anna Bligh, referring to the team behind her with the helping of the 2011 Brisbane floods

“Mate-ship is what Australia is all about” - A woman at the evacuation centre during the 2011 floods

“Practice easing your way along…Do your best; take it as it comes. You can handle anything if you think you can. Just keep your cool and your sense of humor.” ~Smiley Blanton~

“Life? Life is the place where I swallow the bad and vomit-happy thoughts and visions of candy canes in my head while a child dies before me.” - A blogger friend

“You can’t 100% rely on someone who isn’t you, so I always follow Rules 1 and 2, don’t rely on anyone, and always be prepared. It’s…annoying, for sure, but it limits the burn.” - Friend

“Normal is what you know.” - Eddy, Ab Fab

“The meeting of two personalities is like the contact of two chemical substances: if there is any reaction, both are transformed :)” - Alexander Tarango

“Isn’t love universal? Isn’t that the point? That you can see a straight couple in love, and you can see a gay couple in love, and what you see and what you feel is LOVE? Life is universal and love is universal, people need to stop spreading their hate into a world that’s so beautifully diverse.” - glass-half-full

“Sometimes a lesson learned, but sometimes it hurts instead.” - Adele

“Sometimes I wish I smoked so that I could go outside without anyone knowing something’s wrong with me” - Suki Stackhouse, True Blood

(Suki Stackhouse): “You’re alive?”
(Bill): “Well technically, no”

“I am aware that to be given a good memory at birth is worth more than almost any other accomplishment but I believe too that it is as rare for one person to be born with a physically better memory as it is for them to be born with better fingers or better legs. There are young men and women up and down the land who happily (or unhappily) tell everyone who will listen that they don’t have an academic turn of mind, or that they aren’t lucky enough to have been blessed with a good memory, and yet can recite hundreds of pop lyrics and reel off any amount of information about footballers, cars and celebrities. Why? Because they are interested in those things. They are curious. If you are hungry for food you are prepared to hunt high and low for it. If you are hungry for information it is the same. Information is all around us, more now than ever before in human history. You barely have to stir or incommode yourself to find things out. The only reason people do not know how much is because they do not care to know. They are incurious. Incuriosity is the oddest and most foolish failing there is” - Steven Fry

“Just because something doesn’t last forever, doesn’t mean it wasn’t worth your while.” - Anon.

“Today, after I watched my dog get run over by a car, I sat on the side of the road holding him and crying. And just before he died, he licked the tears off my face.” - Dave, MMT

“She’s what the kids would call a slut, which is a horrible thing to say about someone who’s just died, but apparently there’s no denying she was one” - Mr G, Summer Heights High

“You called Caitlin a ‘housing-commission whore’“
“Yeah and you called me a ‘Clearsil before-shot’” - Summer Heights High

“Life is like a mirror. If you frown at it, it frowns back.
If you smile at it, it returns the greeting.”
- Herbert Samuels

“It’d be awesome to have all the answers, but then we wouldn’t have all the questions.” - Anon

““Sweetheart, I appreciate your need to have breakfast the way you want it, but Mommy’s company is trying to have breakfast by eating a small, but highly valued company” –Charlotte Pickles (Rugrats)

” Who are you to judge the life I live? I know I’m not perfect and I don’t live to be. But, before you start pointing fingers, make sure your hands are clean.” - Bob Marley.

“Don’t assume the negative” - Me

“Ah butterflies, aren’t they the best? The pent up mixture of excitement, anxiety, fear and lust. A great indicator of interest. Also the first indicator that rationalism is about to leave the brain.” - Jessicah - OD

“The thing about a crush is sometimes you get crushed.” - Ben 10

“Whether you think you can, or you think you can’t, you’re right.” - Henry Ford

“I have a simple philosophy: Fill what’s empty. Empty what’s full. Scratch where it itches.”
Alice Roosevelt Longworth

“If it weren’t for homosexuals, there’d be no Hollywood!” - Elizabeth Taylor

“Daylight is not a friend of the drag queen” - Lady Bunny

“I’m a supporter of gay rights. And not a closet supporter either. From the time I was a kid, I have never been able to understand attacks upon the gay community. There are so many qualities that make up a human being…By the time I get through all the things that I really admire about people, what they do with their private life is probably so low on the list that it’s irrelevant.” - Paul Newman

“It’s true- I’m a bi-sexual. But I can’t deny that I’ve used that fact very well. I suppose it’s the best thing that ever happened to me. Fun too.” - David Bowie

“War. Rape. Murder. Poverty. Equal rights for gays. Guess which one the Christians are protesting?” - The Value All Families Coalition

“We are all in the gutter, but some of us are looking at the stars” - Oscar Wilde

“No government has the right to tell it’s citizens when or whom to love” - Rita Mae Brown

“Nobody can go back and start a new beginning, but anyone can start today and make a new ending.” - Maria Robinson

“We’re never gunna be as young as we are tonight.” - anon

“A god cannot hate it’s own creation.” - tattoo on mate’s arm

“I hate the word homophobia. It’s not a phobia. You are not scared. You are an asshole.” - Morgan Freeman (supposedly)

“I will not die an unlived life. I will not live in fear of falling or catching fire. I choose to inhabit my days, to allow my living to open me, to make me less afraid, more accessible, to loosen my heart until it becomes a wing, a torch, a promise. I choose to risk my significance; to live so that which comes to me as seed goes to the next as blossom and that which comes to me as blossom, goes on as fruit.”
-Dawna Markova

“Her favourite moments were those when she let go of all expectation and worries, and simply celebrated the very moment she was living.” - unknown.

“Just respect people for who they are… embrace their uniqueness and what they bring to the table… don’t put them into a box and label them and have preset expectations of them… let them be who they are, wonderful, horrible, creating success, making huge mistakes.” - blogger friend

‘I want Jesus to come back and say, “That’s not what I meant!”’ - Margaret Cho

“I was born to do this. There is no plan B. This is it.” - Nikki Williams

“Give him three days.” - Unknown


Last updated December 01, 2020


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.