Opening a Vein in Book Seven: Reconstruction 2020

  • Nov. 19, 2020, 9:53 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I wouldn’t normally come to this space to discuss this issue but it seems that my avenues to discuss this are quickly shrinking and I don’t think I’d be doing myself any favors by not being open about this.

I’m likely jumping to conclusions but I’m a person that takes the evidence of his eyes and the evidence of his hears and has to make a persuasive case as to what those things mean.

Victoria and I were scheduled to have sex last week. It didn’t happen. Victoria and I were scheduled to have sex this week. It didn’t happen. That alone leads me to believe that the sexual element of our relationship is coming to an end. Because this is a woman who wants sex every day (if not more than that) so not having sex with me when discussed and planned would lead me to think something is going on.

But of course, it is more than that. We had a conversation last night where it seems she really finally just embraced… I’m not some dynamo in hiding. I’m not the forceful aggressive lover that was hidden behind a demure front. I’m honestly, truly, and actually the guy that was browbeaten and broken by a toxic, withholding, sexually negative marriage for a decade. Yeah, I’ve been open about that and I’ve not hidden it. I just think from her perspective… she didn’t realize that I wasn’t exaggerating. And it definitely finally became real for her last night. My problems surrounding “forceful initiation” aren’t because I need clear consent. My problems surrounding “forceful initiation” are stemmed in a long build up and psychological break that I’m struggling with… trying to get over the concept of “no matter what I do, I’ll be rejected. I know I have consent but consent is ‘you may’; I need something more like ‘i want”. Because… yeah. I’ll admit it. I’m broken. There was a lot of energy and time put into this brokenness. And I get how a woman who is used to being wanted, and accustomed to forceful lovers just… is exhausted by the idea of what I need. She doesn’t want to initiate all the time (and I don’t want her to, I need to learn and embrace the ‘make the first move’ concept). BUT the issue we’re running into? I’ll initiate (kiss, fondle, something) and she’ll act as though it isn’t enough. Like… she wants something more forceful, more primal, more aggressive. Last night, I tried. I was in the mood for it, I grabbed her head forcefully, and kissed her long and hard. She liked it. But apparently, it wasn’t enough to initiate. Like… we’re on my bed, I give her this grab and kiss, she smiles and says she likes it, then… nothing. Like… maybe I’m not understanding something here. I’ve initiated intimacy. I’ve done so (honestly) as forcefully as I feel comfortable doing. Grab and kiss, kiss the neck… so I asked. Apparently, she’s accustomed to… a good deal more. Like… she thinks the forceful head grab and long kiss.... was gentle. She didn’t realize that was my attempt at aggressive. So after I did that… she went back to her phone. Echoes of problems past, eh?! And so I kind of just… didn’t continue anything. Which upset her. Like… she thought I was going to continue. I was going to strip her or take her or something. And I’m just thinking… how was that… I clearly initiate, kiss you hard, and you go back to your phone? What the hell? (all the while wondering if my reaction is tied to shit with Nancy and her phone bullshit). She mentions that sometimes between her and Remus it gets into a legitimate like honest wrestle. He’s fighting to get her clothes off, she’s fighting back. That’s aggressive. And here’s the truth… yeah. Someday, I can see myself getting to that place where I’m okay doing that. Yeah. But considering I just spent the last 10 years being rejected by my wife for every sexual advance or attempt to initiate every single time I tried… maybe our fourth or fifth time having sex… especially after the shit that went down last week… I’m in need of a partner that I don’t need to literally fight to engage in a sexual evening with.

So I’m thinking the sexual part of our relationship is… if not over… certainly coming to an end. Which sucks in a lot of ways. The “experienced woman who doesn’t want an emotional relationship but helps my sexual hangups” would have been an INCREDIBLY important bridge between the damage of my marriage and a possible healthy relationship. But you know what’s really twisted?? Nancy rejecting me over and over and over and over again… I mean, that became routine. That was upsetting and deeply hurtful but it became something I could almost freaking count on. Victoria getting to the place of “Yeah, it’s gonna be a no from me” somehow hurts worse. Because I know how much she wants and likes sex. And I get that she has multiple outlets to get what she wants… but I think that’s what bugs me in the rejection. Like… she has 3 other guys (including her husband who lives with her) where she can get that rough aggressive animalistic sex whenever she wants. She can’t help me out and be understanding while also receiving orgasms anyway?? Like… it’s not that I’m not producing the desired result… I just don’t get there as quickly or as aggressively. And maybe it’s selfish of me to hope that she was willing to put up with “less than she wanted” in order to help me out but… once again, this is one of those Nancy-like things where… she came after me. She was the one that said she’d like to do something sometime in a sexual way. What is it about me that after a few turns, I’m not worth it anymore?


stargazing November 19, 2020

It isn't that you aren't worth it...it's just that she's looking for something different. Go back to the restaurant analogy. She's wanting mexican, but that isn't what you serve.

Park Row Fallout stargazing ⋅ November 19, 2020

It's great in theory. But it goes back to the same issues I've had my whole life. Everywhere I look... people want Burgers or Tacos. It's hard to run a Fine Hibachi Restaurant when you can't find customers.

stargazing Park Row Fallout ⋅ November 19, 2020

Sometimes it just takes a little longer to find your person. I was the last in my friends group to find my husband. And I have several friends who were in their 40's when they found theirs. We are all on our own journey. Work on healing yourself and being happy with who you are and you will find that person. If you aren't comfortable with who you are, how can you expect someone else to be?

Nash November 19, 2020

Figuring out the power balance in bed can take some time. She is not without fault here, she needs to better express exactly what she wants from you. If she has so many options it is less likely she is going to wait for you to evolve. For that matter, who says you have to evolve? Perhaps this is just who you are. I don't know how this would work in Iowa but there are professional sexual therapists out there.

Starhawk November 19, 2020

I think this is another case of it's not about you, it's about her.

You need nurturing, praise, affirmation. I think she has trouble associating those gentle emotions/actions with sex. She wants sex to be primal and dangerous all the time.

That's not your fault and you shouldn't feel bad about it.

For what it's worth, we share a lot of the same damages and I think I'd react much the same way to her if we traded lives.

Always Laughing November 19, 2020

Hugs.. I suck at giving relationship advice so just hugs.

DimMeOut November 19, 2020

This isn't about you, Chris. This is about her... I think Victoria is a very kinky, lustful woman, and she thought you were some kinky bastard who was hiding under this shy exterior and just needed to be released. She didn't realize you were serious when you told her you were dealing with serious post traumatic issues to lack of intimacy, and I think now that's realized that she doesn't know how to deal with it.
It's time for you to end the sexual part of your relationship and try to find other ways to heal. She's been great for giving you guidance and experience but she doesn't know what to do with your scars. You have to find someone who is willing to help you heal.

caramelchicken November 20, 2020

What Victoria wanted you to do sounds pretty extreme to me. I mean, whatever floats people's boat as long as it's consensual and healthy. But to me, what you did IS quite forceful intiation, and of course you need feedback from her in the moment that she likes that and wants more, for you to feel comfortable taking the next step. Even if it's just her grabbing you and kissing you back or saying she wants more. The kind of scenario she wants should be preceded by in depth discussion around what both parties want to happen (and for you to also want to do it. It's not a bad thing if you're not comfortable being as aggressive as what she wants). She can't expect you to be a mind reader. What she wants would be sexual assault on another person, without it being pre agreed to.

It does sound like she was just hoping secretly you do want to be that aggressive with her. That's okay if you're just not a good match sexually, it happens.

The world needs more men like you, men who are conscious of gaining enthusiastic consent.

Park Row Fallout caramelchicken ⋅ November 20, 2020

I think this, ultimately, is a representation of what she's been having more and more difficulty with lately. I think as things unravel for her (COVID is tough on us all) she's getting worse about communicating. Two weeks ago it was "got excited, changed plans, didn't communicate or seek consent", then this last week it was "wanted something, didn't communicate or seek consent". Without judgment I think it stems from a selfishness or self-centeredness that comes from whatever she isn't dealing with. Which, again, suggests I have a type. lol. Apparently, I like women who are attractive, into nerds, and aren't dealing with their shit. lol

Deleted user November 23, 2020

As someone who likes rough sex and to be man handled... I would say how you kissed her is a great start. But if she wants you to basically strip her down and go for it... she should be upfront with that. Communication is key. The phone thing is so weird to me. Picking up my phone would be the last thing on my mind.

Catleesi November 24, 2020

I fully agree that Victoria has different needs than you but it is kind of annoying that she just expects to you be like her other men and be comfortable in doing so. Not everyone is experienced in that type of play. Especially where you have been turned down so much in the past, having you constantly run after her triggers all your rejection issues.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.